‘Whiskey Cavalier’ Canceled by ABC After One Season

Scott Foley and Lauren Cohan-led drama will be shopped for a new home

Whiskey Cavalier
ABC/Larry D. Horricks

“Whiskey Cavalier” has been canceled by ABC after one season, TheWrap has learned. The Scott Foley and Lauren Cohan-led drama debuted at midseason and is set to air what will now be its series finale on May 22.

Studio Warner Bros. Television intends to shop the series — which originally debuted with a sneak peek after the 2019 Oscars before moving to its Wednesday 10 p.m. time slot — elsewhere, an individual with knowledge of the cancellation tells TheWrap.

Here is the description for the now-canceled drama: Following an emotional breakup, tough but tender FBI super-agent Will Chase (codename: Whiskey Cavalier) — played by Foley — is assigned to work with CIA operative Francesca “Frankie” Trowbridge (codename: Fiery Tribune) — played by Cohan. Together, they lead an interagency team of flawed, funny and heroic spies — including Will’s best friend, behavioral scientist Susan Sampson and jittery genius Edgar Standish — who periodically save the world — and each other — while navigating the rocky roads of friendship, romance and office politics.

“Whiskey Cavalier” also starred Ana Ortiz, Tyler James Williams and Vir Das.

David Hemingson created and wrote the series and executive produced along with Bill Lawrence, Jeff Ingold and Peter Atencio (the pilot director). Foley also served as a producer.

At the time of its cancellation, “Whiskey Cavalier” was averaging a 1.2 rating in the advertiser-coveted 18-49 demographic and 6.3 million viewers, according to the “most current” data from Nielsen, which includes a week’s worth of delayed viewing where available.

The freshman drama’s Sunday death marks the final renewal/cancellation decision for ABC ahead of next week’s upfront presentations to advertisers, when it and fellow broadcast networks Fox, NBC, CBS and The CW will unveil their fall 2019-20 slates.

ABC has also canceled “For the People,” “The Fix,” “The Kids Are Alright,” “Splitting Up Together,” “Speechless” and “Take Two.”

It has renewed the following series for next season: “A Million Little Things,” “American Housewife,” “black-ish,” “Bless This Mess,” “The Conners,” “Fresh Off the Boat,” “The Goldbergs,” “The Good Doctor,” “Grey’s Anatomy” (for Seasons 16 and 17), “How to Get Away With Murder,” “Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.,” “Modern Family” (for an 11th and final season), “The Rookie,” “Schooled,” “Single Parents” and “Station 19.”

Summer drama “Grande Hotel” has yet to premiere.

And these are the new series that have been ordered by ABC for the 2019-20 season: “The Baker and The Beauty,” “Emergence,” “For Life,” “Mixed-ish,” “United We Fall” and an untitled Cobie Smulders project based on the “Stumptown” graphic novel series.