Women Film Journalists Add Another ‘Hurt Locker’ Victory

EDA Awards salute “Hurt Locker,” Kathryn Bigelow, “Up”

Last Updated: December 13, 2009 @ 7:58 PM

Adding to an awards-heavy day that had already seen announcements from the Los Angeles Film Critics Association, the Boston Society of Film Critics, the American Film Institute and the New York Film Critics Online, the Alliance of Women Film Journalists revealed its 2009 winners Sunday evening. 

"The Hurt Locker," which had already been honored by the L.A. and Boston critics and included on the AFI 10-best list, was named best picture, and Kathryn Bigelow best director. The film also picked up an award for best ensemble cast, while Bigelow also won Best Woman Director, Women’s Image Award, and This Year’s Outstanding Achievement by a Woman in the Film Industry.

Jeff Bridges, Carey Mulligan, Christoph Waltz and Mo’Nique were honored for their performances.

The Alliance of Women Film Journalists, made up of almost 50 female film critics and reporters, has been handing out the EDA Awards since 2006.  Honors are voted in a variety of categories, from the usual (Best Film, Best Director) to the tongue-in-cheek (Actress Most in Need of a New Agent, won this year by Hilary Swank).

The full list of awards:


Best Film: "The Hurt Locker"

Best Animated Film: "Up"

Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow (right), "The Hurt Locker"

Best Screenplay, Original: Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber, "(500) Days of Summer"

Best Screenplay, Adapted: Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner, "Up In The Air"

Best Documentary: "The Cove"

Best Actress: Carey Mulligan, "An Education"

Best Actress In Supporting Role: Monique, "Precious"

Best Actor: Jeff Bridges, "Crazy Heart"

Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Christopher Waltz, "Inglorious Basterds"

Best Ensemble Cast: "The Hurt Locker"

Best Editing: Sally Menke, "Inglorious Basterds"

Most Beautiful Film: "Bright Star"

Best Non-English-Language Film: "Summer Hours"


Best Woman Director: Kathryn Bigelow, "The Hurt Locker"

Best Woman Screenwriter: Jane Campion, "Bright Star"

Best Animated Female: Coraline in "Coraline"

Best Breakthrough Performance: Carey Mulligan, "An Education"

Women’s Image Award: Kathryn Bigelow

Perseverance Award: Agnes Varda

Actress Defying Age and Ageism: Meryl Streep, "Julie & Julia" and "It’s Complicated"

Sexist Pig Award: Robert Luketic for "The Ugly Truth"

This Year’s Outstanding Achievement By A Woman In The Film Industry: Kathryn Bigelow for "The Hurt Locker"

Lifetime Achievement Award: Agnes Varda

AWFJ Award For Humanitarian Activism: Rebecca Cammisa for "Which Way Home"


AWFJ Hall Of Shame Award: Robert Luketic, "The Ugly Truth"

Actress Most in Need Of A New Agent: Hilary Swank

Movie You Wanted To Love But Just Couldn‘t: "Amelia"

Unforgettable Moment Award (Tie):
"Inglorious Basterds" – Shoshanna (Melanie Laurent) burns down the theater
"Precious" – Mary (Mo’Nique) admits the abuse

Best Depiction Of Nudity, Sexuality, or Seduction (Tie):
"An Education" – Carey Mulligan and Peter Saarsgard
"It’s Complicated" – – Meryl Streep and Alec Baldwin

Sequel That Shouldn’t Have Been Made Award: "Transformers Revenge of the Fallen"

The Remake That Shouldn’t Have Been Made Award: "Land of the Lost"

Cultural Crossover Award: "District 9"

Bravest Performance Award: Mo’Nique in "Precious"

Most Egregious Age Difference Between The Leading Man and The Love Interest Award:
"Whatever Works" – Larry David and Evan Rachel Wood (40 years difference)