We've Got Hollywood Covered

Academy Fills Governor Slots

Tom Hanks returns as head of Oscar’s acting branch.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced the election results for its board of governors on Tuesday, awarding nine incumbents, four new members and a former governor returning form hiatus.

Tom Hanks returns to represent the actors branch after a year off, leaving the race for the fifteenth spot coming down to one of two directors — Gil Cates or Edward Zwick.

The vote between Cates and Zwick ended in a tie, producing the first runoff in a vote for Academy governors. Academy Executive Director Bruce Davis said that a second vote would be conducted with ballots due back by July 29.

Of the newly elected members, the four joining the board for the first time are James D. Bissell (art direction branch), Lynne Littman (documentary), Bill Kroyer (short film and feature animation) and Robert G. Friedman (public relations).


Michael Apted held the position Littman now assumes, but he stepped down two years before his term ended due to work obligations.

Besides Hanks, the other returning members are Caleb Deschanel (cinematographers), Rob Epstein (documentary), Tom Sherak (executives), Mark Goldblatt (film editors), Bruce Broughton (music), Mark Johnson (producers), Kevin O’Connell (sound) Bill Taylor (visual effects), and James L. Brooks (writers).

There were 27 governors not up for re-election, representing all 15 branches.