We've Got Hollywood Covered

‘Bombshell’ Screenwriter Charles Randolph to Receive WGAW’s 2020 Paul Selvin Award

Previous recipients have included Adam McKay, Liz Hannah and Josh Singer and Alex Gibney

“Bombshell” screenwriter Charles Randolph will receive the Writers Guild of America West’s 2020 Paul Selvin Award, the Writers Guild announced Wednesday.

Randolph’s screenplay will be honored at the 2020 Writers Guild Awards West Coast ceremony on Feb. 1 at the Beverly Hilton.

“Charles Randolph’s masterful screenplay has turned a challenging and significant cultural moment into a deeply captivating human drama,” WGAW President David A. Goodman said in a statement. “His work illustrates that the experience of standing up to abuse transcends the barriers of partisanship and political affiliation. The WGAW is proud to honor him for this outstanding script.”

Randolph added: “I’m moved to receive the Selvin. Since ‘Citizen Kane,’ screenwriters have told stories based on real people who frustrate easy labels and I’m proud to be the member of a guild that celebrates human complexity.”

“Bombshell” explores the sexual harassment scandal that shook Fox News. It stars Charlize Theron, Nicole Kidman and Margot Robbie. Jay Roach directed the film that was released on Dec. 20.

“Bombshell” has received a number of accolades, including Oscar nominations for Charlize Theron and Margot Robbie, as well as Best Makeup and Hair, and four nominations for the Screen Actors Guild Awards.

Randolph began his career being a cultural studies and philosophy professor at the University of Southern California. In 2016, he won Writers Guild, Academy and BAFTA Awards for his screenplay “The Big Short.” His other credits include “Love and Other Drugs” (2010), “The Interpreter” (2005) and “The Life of David Gale” (2003).

The honorary award is named after Selvin, general counsel to WGAW for 25 years, and is given to a member whose script “best embodies the spirit of the constitutional civil rights and liberties that are indispensable to the survival of free writers everywhere and to which Selvin devoted his professional life.” Previous recipients include Alex Gibney, Dustin Lance Black, Liz Hannah and Josh Singer, and most recently, Adam McKay.