We've Got Hollywood Covered

‘Death on the Nile’ Gets Streaming Debut on HBO Max and Hulu This Month

Kenneth Branagh’s murder mystery hits streaming less than two months after it opened in theaters

Those who were waiting for “Death on the Nile” to start streaming are in luck – the murder mystery thriller will be available on HBO Max and Hulu later in March in the U.S.

The follow-up to “Murder on the Orient Express” was released exclusively in theaters on February 11, but will be making its streaming debut just over a month later on March 29.

Additional 20th Century Studios films released exclusively in theaters last year have been making streaming debuts in early 2022: “The Last Duel” landed on HBO Max in January, “Free Guy” and “Th King’s Men” came to HBO Max and Disney+ in February and “West Side Story” is now streaming on HBO Max and Disney+.

The simultaneous release on HBO Max and Hulu for “Death on the Nile” is a product of an existing deal between Fox and Warner Bros. that extends through 2022, and similarly saw Guillermo del Toro’s Best Picture-nominated “Nightmare Alley” come to both streaming services at the beginning of February.

Based on the 1937 Agatha Christie novel, “Death on the Nile” sees Kenneth Branagh reprise his role as detective Hercule Poirot as another murder is committed – this time on a ship. Branagh directs the 20th Century Studios film just as he directed “Murder on the Orient Express,” and the ensemble cast includes Tom Bateman, Annette Bening, Russell Brand, Ali Fazal, Dawn French, Gal Gadot, Armie Hammer, Rose Leslie, Emma Mackey, Sophie Okonedo, Jennifer Saunders and Letitia Wright. 

The film is written by Michael Green, adapted from Christie’s novel, and is produced by Ridley Scott, Kenneth Branagh, p.g.a., Judy Hofflund, p.g.a. and Kevin J. Walsh, with Mark Gordon, Simon Kinberg, Matthew Jenkins, James Prichard and Mathew Prichard serving as executive producers.

“Death on the Nile” will debut on Disney+ in select international markets and on Star+ in Latin America as follows:

  • March 30: Canada, Germany, United Kingdom, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Switzerland, Norway, Sweden, Finland, Denmark, Portugal, Belgium, Australia, New Zealand, Korea, Taiwan, Luxembourg, Austria
  • April 6: Spain, Singapore, Indonesia (Hotstar), Malaysia (Hotstar), Thailand (Hotstar)
  • April 20: Latin America, Brazil