We've Got Hollywood Covered

‘Doctor Who’ Showrunner Steven Moffat to Exit Series

He will depart after Season 10 and be replaced by ”Broadchurch“ creator Chris Chibnall

“Doctor Who” showrunner Steven Moffat will exit the series after Season 10.

Chris Chibnall, who served as a writer on the BBC sci-fi series and created the network’s “Broadchurch,” will assume the role going forward.

The news was announced through the show’s official Twitter account on Friday.

“Feels odd to be talking about leaving when I’m just starting work on the scripts for season 10, but the fact is my timey-wimey is running out. While Chris is doing his last run of ‘Broadchurch,’ I’ll be finishing up on the best job in the universe and keeping the TARDIS warm for him,” Moffat said in statement to TheWrap from BBC America.

“It took a lot of gin and tonic to talk him [Chibnall] into this, but I am beyond delighted that one of the true stars of British Television drama will be taking the Time Lord even further into the future. At the start of season 11, Chris Chibnall will become the new showrunner of ‘Doctor Who.’ And I will be thrown in a skip.”

“I’ve loved ‘Doctor Who’ since I was four years old, and I’m relishing the thought of working with the exceptional team at BBC Wales to create new characters, creatures and worlds for the Doctor to explore,” Chibnall added.

Peter Capaldi currently stars as the Time Lord on the iconic time-traveling show, which aired it’s ninth season finale on BBC America in December. Jenna Coleman, who played Clara Oswald on the series for three seasons, also will not return for Season 10.

A “Doctor Who” spinoff will premiere in the U.S. on BBC America in 2016. “Class,” written by author Patrick Ness, is set in a school in contemporary London.

Moffat took over the reins on Season 5 in 2010 and during his tenure he was responsible for introducing the 11th and the 12th Doctors in Matt Smith and Peter Capaldi; as well companions Amy Pond (Karen Gillan) and Clara Oswald (Coleman), iconic characters and monsters including River Song (Alex Kingston), Missy (Michelle Gomez), Rory Pond (Arthur Darvill) and the terrifying Weeping Angels.

“Doctor Who” first aired in Britain in 1963 and was relaunched in 2005. The Time Lord having been played by 12 actors to date, including Tom Baker, Christopher Eccleston, David Tennant and Matt Smith.

Please fill out this field.