We've Got Hollywood Covered

Film Independent Names Mary Sweeney as New Board of Directors Chair

The independent filmmaker takes over chairman duties from "The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn" director Bill Condon

Filmmaker Mary Sweeney has been named Film Independent's new sitting chair of its Board of Directors, the nonprofit's co-presidents, Sean McManus and Josh Welsh, announced on Friday.

Getty Images

The producer and editor ("Mulholland Dr.," "Inland Empire") replaces director Bill Condon ("The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn"), who has held the position for the last three years.

Also read: Salma Hayek, Jeremy Renner Named Honorary Co-Chairs of 2013 Independent Spirit Awards

“We are so thankful and appreciative for Bill’s incredible leadership during his tenure,” McManus said in a statement. “We know Mary is equally devoted to our mission and look forward to working with her to realize our vision.”

Sweeney will be joining current Vice Chair Rodrigo García ("In Treatment"), Secretary Alan Poul ("The Newsroom") and newly seated Treasurer, Landmark Theatres CEO Ted Mundorff in the voluntary leadership role within the organization that produces the Independent Spirit Awards, the Los Angeles Film Festival and LACMA Film Series.

“As an independent filmmaker, I welcome this opportunity to strengthen my commitment to the independent filmmaking community,” Sweeney said. “Film Independent has been at the heart of this community for over 30 years, and I’m excited to work with the Board of Directors, Josh, Sean, and their dedicated staff, to build on the great work already being done.”