George Carlin Biopic Is in Works at The Jackal Group

“Moneyball” writer Stan Chervin will produce and write the screenplay

george carlin
Getty Images

A biopic on the life and career of stand-up legend George Carlin is in the works, as The Jackal Group announced on Monday that it has acquired the film rights from Carlin’s estate.

The film will be produced by The Jackal Group’s Chairman and CEO Gail Berman and President Joe Earley. Stan Chervin, who earned an Oscar nomination for his screenplay for “Moneyball,” is also attached as writer and producer. Other producers are former agent Bruce Kaufman under his new banner Wood Hollow Pictures, and Jerry Hamza, Carlin’s longtime manager and executor of his estate.

 “We are honored to tell the story of one of the most important and influential comedians of all time, and to do so alongside those who knew him best,” said Berman and Earley in a statement. “In addition to shaping comedy and culture for decades, and entertaining generations of audiences, Carlin’s battle to protect free speech continues to impact our daily lives and is as relevant as ever.”

Hamza added, “I’m very excited to be involved with a film based on George’s life.  It was wasn’t until after George died, I realized he was a hero. As a performer, George would never ‘sell out,’ and never comprise his beliefs – I learned so much from him.  I think the public will be very happy to learn about George’s life.  He was truly the top of the ladder in his field.”

Carlin, who passed away in 2008, left behind a legacy as one of the most decorated and unrelenting comedians of all time. Known best for his “Hippy Dippy Weatherman” act on “The Tonight Show” and his “Seven Words You Can Never Say on Television” routine in his stand-up, Carlin also earned five Grammys from 11 nominations for the audio versions of his novels and his stand-up collections. In 2002, he received the Freedom of Speech Award from the First Amendment Center, and shortly after his death, he was posthumously awarded The Kennedy Center’s Mark Twain Prize for American Humor.