How to Stream the 2019 Independent Spirit Awards Live Online

You will be able to catch the Spirit Awards no matter where you are, and you won’t even need a cable subscription

Last Updated: February 23, 2019 @ 10:04 AM

After a long and shockingly wide open campaign, Hollywood’s awards’ season is finally drawing to a close this weekend with the Independent Spirit Awards and the Oscars. The Spirit Awards, a celebration of many of the year’s best independent films, is taking place on the evening of Saturday, Feb. 23 at 5 p.m. ET/ 2 p.m. PT live from Santa Monica, Calif.

The ceremony will be carried live by the cable channel IFC, and the online streaming option for the Independent Spirit Awards comes in two flavors.

The first is the one you come to expect for pretty much everything: the online stream available on IFC’s official site here, as well as the IFC app for mobile devices and streaming boxes for your TV. This stream requires you to log in with an applicable TV provider.

But if you don’t have one of those, fear not because there is also an official stream of the Independent Spirit Awards that will be completely free. That stream you can find on Facebook, on the Film Independent page right here. Easy as pie.

If you miss the show when it happens live, you can check out an encore at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT.

This year’s Spirit Awards will be hosted by the illustrious Aubrey Plaza, and you can click here to check out the full list of nominees, led by films such as “We the Animals,” Eighth Grade,” “First Reformed” and “You Were Never Really Here.”