We've Got Hollywood Covered

Jill Soloway’s ‘Transparent’ Premiering Next Month on Amazon

Stars Jeffrey Tambor as a transgender woman

Amazon has announced a premiere date of Friday, Sept. 26 for all ten episodes of the highly-anticipated Jill Soloway dark comedy “Transparent.”

Written, directed and executive produced by Soloway, an Emmy nominee and 2013 Sundance Best Director winner, the half-hour episodes examine family, identity, sex, and love. The series stars Jeffrey Tambor as Maura, who has spent her life as Mort, the Pfefferman family patriarch.

Also read: Amazon Provides TV-Sized Budgets as ‘Transparent’ Marks Transition From TV to Online

Her transition brings out many family secrets for his ex-wife Shelly (Judith Light), as well as their children: meandering Ali (Gaby Hoffmann), record producer Josh (Jay Duplass), and sexually conflicted Sarah (Amy Landecker).

“We couldn’t be more pleased to offer our customers all episodes of ‘Transparentin late September,” said Roy Price, director of Amazon Studios. “Jill has an amazing ability to create deep, engaging and rich stories and characters. We think customers will enjoy this fresh, humorous, and touching series.”

Also read: ‘Portlandia’s’ Carrie Brownstein Joins Amazon Dramedy ‘Transparent’ (Exclusive)

“I am beyond excited to share Transparent with the world through Amazon. They’ve been so supportive through this incredible process,” said Soloway. “Artistically, it’s been a dream come true. I absolutely got to make the show I wanted to make.”

Recurring guest stars in Transparent include Melora Hardin, Bradley Whitford, Carrie Brownstein, Kathryn Hahn, Alexandra Billings, and Rob Huebel. Other guest stars include Michaela Watkins, Ian Harvie, and Cleo Anthony.

The series is co-executive produced by Andrea Sperling, with supervising producer Bridget Bedard, consulting producers Nisha Ganatra and Rick Rosenthal and producer Victor Hsu. Episodes were directed by Soloway and Ganatra and written by Soloway, Bedard, Micah Fitzerman-Blue, Noah Harpster, Faith Soloway, Etahn Kuperberg and Ali Liebegott.