We've Got Hollywood Covered

Kirsten Dunst, Donald Sutherland, Mads Mikkelsen Join Cannes Film Festival Jury

Other members of the panel will include Vanessa Paradis, Valeria Golino and ”Son of Saul“ director Laszlo Nemes


Kirsten Dunst, Donald Sutherland and “Son of Saul” director Laszlo Nemes will join previously announced George Miller on the jury at the 2016 Cannes Film Festival, organizers announced on Monday.

Also on the jury, over which “Mad Max” director Miller will preside: French director Arnaud Desplechin, Italian actress Valeria Golino, Danish actor Mads Mikkelsen, French actress Vanessa Paradis and Iranian producer Katayoon Shahabi.

The jury will screen all the films in Cannes’ main competition and choose the winners in a number of categories, including the Palme d’Or. The winners will be announced at a closing-night ceremony on May 22.

Films that will be competing for the jury’s attention in the main competition include Sean Penn‘s “The Last Face,” Jeff Nichols‘ “Loving,” Xavier Dolan‘s “It’s Only the End of the World,” Nicolas Winding Refn‘s “The Neon Demon,” Jim Jarmusch‘s “Paterson” and the Dardenne brothers’ “The Unknown Girl.”

The 69th Cannes Film Festival will begin on Wednesday, May 11 with an out-of-competition screening of Woody Allen‘s “Cafe Society.”

The jury:

George Miller – Président
(Director, Writer, Producer – Australia)

Arnaud Desplechin (Director, Writer – France)

Kirsten Dunst (Actress – United States)

Valeria Golino (Actress, Director, Producer, Writer – Italy)

Mads Mikkelsen (Actor – Denmark)

László Nemes (Director, Writer – Hungary)

Vanessa Paradis (Actress, Singer – France)

Katayoon Shahabi (Producer – Iran)

Donald Sutherland (Actor – Canada)