Thomas Schlamme, Marie Cantin Named for Special DGA Awards

Film educator receiving Frank Capra award; “Friends” and “The Americans” director to get Aldrich honors

marie cantin thomas schlamme dga directors guild award
(Courtesy DGA)

Film and television director Thomas Schlamme will be honored with the Directors Guild of America’s 2017 Robert B. Aldrich Award for extraordinary service to the guild and to its membership, the DGA announced Wednesday.

In addition, Marie Cantin will receive the 2017 Frank Capra Achievement Award, which is given to an assistant director or unit production manager to honor career achievement in the industry and service to the DGA.

Schlamme has been a member of the DGA since 1978 and currently serves as the organization’s third vice president. His directing credits include television series “Friends,” “The Americans,” and films “So I Married an Axe Murderer” and “Miss Firecracker.”

Cantin, a former associate dean at the American Film Institute, most recently completed her fourth term as a DGA council chair, during which time she spearheaded numerous educational initiatives.

President Paris Barclay announced the honors, to be handed out at the 69th Annual DGA Awards during a special dinner held at the Beverly Hilton on Saturday, Feb. 4, 2017.

“From the boardroom to the bargaining table, Thomas Schlamme exemplifies the service and dedication upon which our Guild was founded – all while maintaining a successful and demanding career,” said Barclay. “For more than a decade and a half, we have all benefited from his laser-focus on the creative and economic rights of directors.”

“Since the moment she was elected to her first Guild post in 2003, Marie Cantin has been a staunch advocate and proud representative of her fellow Guild members who have also benefited tremendously from her unwavering commitment to education,” added Barclay. “We are thrilled to recognize her service and accomplishments.”

Past recipients of the DGA Robert B. Aldrich Award:
Steven Soderbergh (2014)
Michael Apted (2013)
William M. Brady (2009)
Paris Barclay (2007)
Taylor Hackford (2007)
Jeremy Kagan (2004)
Jud Taylor (2003)
Edwin Sherin (2002)
Robert Butler (2001)
Tom Donovan (2001)
Arthur Hiller (1999)
Martha Coolidge (1998)
Delbert Mann (1997)
Daniel Petrie (1996)
Max A. Schindler (1995)
Burt Bluestein (1994)
Gene Reynolds (1993)
John Rich (1993)
Jack Shea (1992)
Larry Auerbach (1991)
Milt Felsen (1991)
George L. Schaefer (1990)
Gilbert Cates (1989)
Sheldon Leonard (1988)
George Sidney (1986)
Elliot Silverstein (1985)
Robert E. Wise (1984)

Past recipients of the DGA Frank Capra Achievement Award:
Mary Rae Thewlis (2016)
Phillip Goldfarb (2015)
Lee Blaine (2014)
Susan Zwerman (2013)
Katy E. Garretson (2012)
Cleve Landsberg (2010)
Kim Kurumada (2009)
Liz Ryan (2008)
Jerry H. Ziesmer (2006)
Herb Adelman (2005)
Stephen Glanzrock (2004)
Yudi Bennett (2003)
Burt Bluestein (2002)
Cheryl R. Downey (2000)
Tom Joyner (1999)
Bob Jeffords (1998)
Peter A. Runfolo (1994)
Willard H. Sheldon (1993)
Howard W. Koch (1991)
Stanley Ackerman (1990)
Alex Hapsas (1988)
Henry E. “Bud” Brill (1987)
Jane Schimel (1985)
Abby Singer (1985)
William Beaudine Jr. (1983)
William C. Gerrity (1983)
Wallace Worsley (1982)
David Golden (1982)
Francisco “Chico” Day (1981)
Emmett Emerson (1980)