MTV Renews ‘Scream’ for Season 2

The adaptation of the 1996 horror film stars Willa Fitzgerald, Bex Taylor-Klaus and John Karna

MTV has ordered a second season of “Scream,” the network announced Wednesday during the 2015 Television Critics Association Summer Press Tour.

Starring Willa Fitzgerald, Bex Taylor-Klaus, John Karna, Carlson Young, Connor Weil and Tracy Middendorf, “Scream” is set in the fictional Lakewood, a town rocked by a series of murders somehow connected to crimes and death of Brandon James, a serial killer from 20 years prior.

The horror series is an adaptation of the 1996 slasher film franchise by Wes Craven starring Neve Campbell, Courteney Cox and David Arquette.

Bob and Harvey Weinstein executive produce “Scream” alongside showrunners Jill Blotevogel and Jaime Paglia; John Shiban is a consulting producer. Additional executive producers are Wes Craven, Tony DiSanto, Liz Gateley, Marianne Maddalena and Cathy Konrad.​

“Scream” airs Tuesdays on MTV at 10 p.m.