We've Got Hollywood Covered

New York Film Critics Circle Keeps Awards Eligibility to 2020, Will Vote in December

Awards will be announced on Dec. 18, and a date for the annual Gala dinner will be announced later

While the Oscars and other awards bodies have all pushed events back on their calendar and expanded eligibility for what movies can be considered, the New York Film Critics Circle will only consider movies released in the 2020 calendar year for its annual awards.

The NYFCC announced Friday it will vote for its 2020 awards on Dec. 18 and that only movies released in theaters or on digital platforms between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2020, will be considered.

Further, the date for the group’s annual Gala Awards dinner is still to be announced, and membership for 2020 members will be frozen this year, with all current members still eligible to vote, even as many critics’ jobs have been affected by COVID-19. No new members will be voted in this year.

“This is a year unlike any other in our lifetimes. But the world of movies hasn’t stopped, and already, even in this very strange year, we’ve seen a range of films and performances that have impressed and moved us. It’s more important than ever to celebrate the way movies can connect us, and the NYFCC is looking forward to honoring the best of 2020,” NYFCC chair Stephanie Zacharek said in a statement.

Dec. 18 is still later than usual for the New York Film Critics Circle to vote, as last year the NYFCC selected “The Irishman” as its best film of the year in the first week of December, and in past years the awards have been voted on in late November.

While the awards are one of the first handed out in the long awards season calendar, they’re less a precursor to the Oscars and have shown more diverse tastes than The Academy. The last time the NYFCC agreed with the Academy on the eventual Best Picture winner was “The Artist” from 2011.

While other awards bodies such as the Golden Globes, the Screen Actors Guild and various film festival galas have all pushed back and changed their eligibility in line with the Oscars, it’s possible that other regional film critics groups will follow New York’s lead in keeping eligibility to the 2020 calendar year.

The Oscars meanwhile will take place on April 25, the latest the ceremony has been held since 1932, and movies released up through February 28 will be eligible for the 93rd Oscars.

The New York Film Critics Circle was founded in 1935 and features Time Magazine critic Stephanie Zacharek as 2020 chairman, Jordan Hoffman as vice chair and Marshall Fine as NYFCC general manager.

A full list of current NYFCC members is below:

Stephanie Zacharek (CHAIR)
Time Magazine

Jordan Hoffman (VICE CHAIR)



Sam Adams

John Anderson

Melissa Anderson

Michael Atkinson

Richard Brody
The New Yorker

Dwight Brown
NNPA Syndication

Kameron Austin Collins
Rolling Stone

Bilge Ebiri
New York Magazine

David Edelstein

David Ehrlich

Kate Erbland

David Fear
Rolling Stone

Graham Fuller

Owen Gleiberman

Ed Gonzalez
Slant Magazine

Leah Greenblatt
Entertainment Weekly

Steven D. Greydanus
The National Catholic Register

Rafer Guzman

Caryn James

Stuart Klawans
The Nation

Eric Kohn

Richard Lawson
Vanity Fair

Tomris Laffly

Violet Lucca

Joe Morgenstern
The Wall Street Journal

Sheila O’Malley

Nick Pinkerton

Peter Rainer
Christian Science Monitor

Rex Reed

David Rooney
The Hollywood Reporter

Joshua Rothkopf

Matt Zoller Seitz

David Sims
The Atlantic

Matt Singer

Kyle Smith
National Review

Dana Stevens

Sara Stewart
New York Post

Amy Taubin

Peter Travers
Rolling Stone

Keith Uhlich

Elizabeth Weitzman
The Wrap

Stephen Whitty

Alissa Wilkinson

Alison Willmore
New York Magazine