Prince Releasing Two New Studio Albums on Same Day

One is with new band 3rd Eye Girl

Prince is back in prolific mode: The purple one announced Monday that he will release two new albums on Sept. 29, one of them by his new band, 3rd Eye Girl.

The Prince album, “Art Official Age,” and the 3rd Eye Girl album, “Plectrumelectrum,” will both be released on Sept 29. The albums will also be accompanied by a series of “very special events taking place globally,” according to a news release.

Also read: ‘Arsenio Hall Show’ Gets Big Ratings Boost From Prince

The albums mark Prince’s return after 18 years to Warner Bros. Records, which released the classics “Dirty Mind,” “1999,” “Purple Rain” and “Sign ‘O’ the Times,” among others. During his long feud with the label, he dropped his name in favor of a symbol, once wrote the word “Slave” on his cheek to protest his contract, and jammed out albums to run out his contractual obligations.

“Prince is one of just a handful of visionary artists who have truly reshaped and redefined modern music and culture,” said Warner Bros. Records CEO Cameron Strang. “For the past 35 years, he has never stopped evolving, challenging himself, reinventing his sound, and pushing boundaries.  In true Prince fashion, he has just given us not one, but two extraordinary albums that express the incredible range and depth of his talent.  All of us at WBR are immensely proud to be working with Prince to bring this brilliant new music to his legions of fans around the world, and needless to say we are thrilled to be working in partnership with him again.”

Also read: Prince Drops Copyright Lawsuit After Backlash From Fans

The release described “Art Official Age” as a “contemporary concoction of soul, R&B and funk.  The melodies are immediate and prominent as ever and Prince’s vocals are rich and solid, taking full advantage of his vocal range with decidedly, seductive lyrics.”

“Plectrumelectrum” is described as “a classic band record.” Besides Prince, the band features Donna Grantis (guitar), Hannah Ford Welton (drums) and Ida Nielsen (bass).

Prince has released more than 30 studio albums in all.