Salma Hayek, Jeremy Renner Named Honorary Co-Chairs of 2013 Independent Spirit Awards

The co-chairs will announce Film Independent’s 2013 grant winners during the Spirit Awards Nominee Brunch on January 12

Salma Hayek and Jeremy Renner will serve as honorary Co-Chairs for the 2013 Film Independent Spirit Awards, Film Independent announced on Friday.

Getty Images

The pair, who were chosen due to their outstanding artistic achievement and continued support of independent filmmaking, will announce the nonprofit's grant winners for 2013 during the Spirit Awards Nominee Brunch on January 12.

Also read: Film Independent Sets Spirit Awards for Feb. 23

"It is an honor to have both Salma and Jeremy join us as Co-Chairs of the 2013 Film Independent Sprits Awards,” said Film Independent Co-President Sean Mc Manus. “Both continue to demonstrate their commitment to independent filmmaking and believe in the importance of supporting independent film as an artistic form of expression and encouraging the next generation of filmmakers.”

Past Chairs chosen included Halle Berry, Tom Cruise, Benicio Del Toro, Robert Duvall, Jodie Foster, Danny Glover, Harvey Keitel, Nicole Kidman, Ang Lee, Julianne Moore, Martin Scorsese and John Travolta.

The 28th annual Film Independent Spirit Awards will take place in Santa Monica, California on Feb. 23 before being aired on IFC later that evening.