We've Got Hollywood Covered

Sony Motion Picture Head Tom Rothman to Receive PGA Milestone Award

Studio chief will take the prize at January ceremony in Beverly Hills

Sony Motion Picture Group Chairman Tom Rothman will be honored with the 2017 Producers Guild of American Milestone Award.

Rothman, who has been at the top of the studio since February 2015, will take the prize January 28 at a ceremony in Beverly Hills.

“Our industry has benefited immensely from Tom’s instincts, tenacity and vision,” said PGA Chairs Donald De Line and Amy Pascal, who has an overall deal with Sony.

“From his championing of independent storytellers early in his career to his nurturing of studio films on an epic scale, Tom’s passion for movies has been one of the unstoppable creative engines of our business,” they added in a joint statement.

Rothman said the award is “the highest honor of my professional life and I am humbled and grateful to be included among such august company. Coming from the outstanding organization that is the PGA, it is indeed praise from high quarters.”

Rothman’s upcoming releases include the Ang Lee film “Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk” and the Jennifer Lawrence-Chris Pratt space romance “Passengers.”

“I have no current plans to do so, but I could now die happy,” Rothman added.

Past milestone award winners include Clint Eastwood, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Steven Spielberg, Sherry Lansing, Ron Meyer, Bob & Harvey Weinstein, Alan Horn, Bob Iger, and most recently former 20th Century Fox CEO Jim Gianopulos.