We've Got Hollywood Covered

Nicole Kidman, Robert De Niro, Nicolas Cage Films Added to Toronto Fest

Spy film ”Page Eight“ will close festival; Winnie Mandela biopic also added to lineup

David Hare's British spy film "Page Eight" will serve as closing-night film of the 2011 Toronto International Film Festival, which also announced a new slate of galas and special presentations on Tuesday, including the Winnie Mandela biopic "Winnie," Marc Forster's "Machine Gun Preacher" and Joel Schumacher's home-invasion drama "Trespass," with Nicole Kidman and Nicolas Cage.

The new galas and special presentations added more than two dozen notable films to a TIFF lineup that was already notably strong and deep, while the festival also announced several dozen more additions to its more adventurous sidebars.

Bill Nighy"Page Eight," with Bill Nighy (left), Rachel Weisz, Ralph Fiennes and Judy Davis, will close the festival on September 18. "Machine Gun Preacher," "Tresspass" and "Winnie" will have their gala world premieres in Toronto, as will "The Awakening," a British thriller; "Hysteria," a comedy about the doctor who invented the first electro-mechanical vibrator; and "Killer Elite," an action film with Jason Statham, Robert De Niro and Clive Owen.

TIFF special presentations will include Whit Stillman's "Damsels in Distress," Andrea Arnold's "Wuthering Heights," Gianni Amelio's Camus adaptation "The First Man," Agnieszka Holland's "In Darkness," Julia Leigh's controversial Cannes entry "Sleeping Beauty," and "Violet & Daisy," the directorial debut from "Precious" screenwriter Geoffrey Fletcher.

The festival also announced a number of additions to other programs:

Contemporary World Cinema: 51 films were added to the lineup, which will feature 18 world premieres. The selection includes new films from Karim Ainouz, Ole Christian Madsen, Cristian Jimenez, Sion Sono and Andrey Zvyagintsev. It also includes the Cannes favorite "Footnote," from Joseph Cedar; "Juan of the Dead," a zombie movie set in Cuba; "Always Brando," the chronicle of a film that Tunisian director Ridha Behi planned to make with Marlon Brando and Tunisian Brando lookalike Anis Raache; and two different films titled "Michael," one from Indian director Ribhu Dasgupta and one from Austrian Markus Schleinzer.

Visions: 18 films were added to the lineup of challenging international films, including "ALPS" from "Dogtooth" director Yorgos Lanthimos. Other directors represented include Amir Naderi, Bertrand Bonello and Julia Loktev.

Wavelength: The five programs, an annual collection of international avant garde film and video work, will feature the work of artists including Mark Lewis, Ben Rivers and Tacita Dean; filmmakers represented include Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Rose Lowder, James Benning and Nathaniel Dorsky. The program will also feature works by a number of Canadian artists and filmmakers, as well as a collaboration with Toronto's Wavelength music series.

Future Projections: the citywide program of moving-image artworks will feature work from David Lynch; James Franco and Gus Van Sant; and Mr. Brainwash, the subject of Banksy's "Exit Through the Gift Shop." Other artists include Eve Sussman, Gregory Crewdson, Nicholas and Sheila Pye, Duane Hopkins, David Rokeby, Ben Rivers, Elle Flanders and Tamira Sawatzky, and David Lamelas.

The bulk of the Toronto lineup was announced last month. The festival's final additions will be announced next Tuesday.

More information can be found at tiff.net.

The additions:

"Page Eight," David Hare
With Bill Nighy, Michael Gambon, Rachel Weisz, Ralph Fiennes, Judy Davis

"The Awakening,"
Nick Murphy
With Rebecca Hall, Dominic West and Imelda Staunton
"Beloved," Christophe Honoré
With Chiara Mastroianni and Catherine Deneuve
"Hysteria," Tanya Wexler
With Maggie Gyllenhaal, Hugh Dancy, Jonathan Pryce, Rupert Everett and Felicity Jones
"Killer Elite," Gary McKendry
With Jason Statham, Robert De Niro and Clive Owen
"Machine Gun Preacher," Marc Forster
With Gerard Butler
"Trespass," Joel Schumacher
With Nicolas Cage and Nicole Kidman
"Winnie," Darrell J. Roodt
With Jennifer Hudson, Terrence Howard, Elias Koteas and Wendy Crewson

"The Cardboard Village,"
Ermanno Olmi
With Michael Lonsdale and Rutger Hauer
"Damsels in Distress," Whit Stillman
With Greta Gerwig, Megalyn Echikunwoke, Carrie MacLemore and Analeigh Tipton
"Death of a Superhero," Ian FitzGibbon
With Andy Serkis, Thomas Brodie-Sangster and Aisling Loftus
"The First Man," Gianni Amelio
"In Darkness," Agnieszka Holland
With Robert Wieçkiewicz and Benno Fürmann
"Intruders," Juan Carlos Fresnadillo
With Clive Owen
"Life Without Principle," Johnnie To
"Low Life," Nicolas Klotz, Elisabeth Perceval
"Mausam" ("Seasons of Love"), Pankaj Kapur
With Shahid Kapur, Sonam A Kapoor and Anupam Kher
"My Worst Nightmare," Anne Fontaine
With Isabelle Huppert
"Rebellion," Mathieu Kassovitz
"Sleeping Beauty," Julia Leigh
With Emily Browning and Rachael Blake
"Terraferma," Emanuele Crialese
"That Summer," Philippe Garrel
"Violet & Daisy," Geoffrey Fletcher
With Saoirse Ronan, Alexis Bledel, James Gandolfini, Marianne Jean-Baptiste and Danny Trejo
"Warriors of the Rainbow: Seediq Bale," Wei Te-Sheng
"Wuthering Heights," Andrea Arnold

Yorgos Lanthimos
'Century of Birthing," Lav Diaz
"Cut," Amir Naderi
"Dreileben" ("Three Lives"), Christian Petzold, Dominic Graf and Christoph Hochhausler
"Fable of the Fish," Adolfo Borinaga Alix Jr.
"House of Tolerance," Bertrand Bonello
"KOTOKO," Shinya Tsukamoto
"The Last Christeros," Matias Meyer
"The Loneliest Planet," Julia Kotkev
"Monsters Club," Toshiaki Toyoda
"The Mountain," Ghassan Salhab
"Mushrooms," Vimukthi Jayasundara
"Play," Ruben Ostlund
"Porfiro," Alejandro Landes
"Random," Debbie Tucker Green
"The River Used to Be a Man," Jan Zabeil
"Swirl," Helvecio Marins Jr. and Clarissa Campolina
"This Side of Resurrection," Joaquim Sapinho

"Always Brando
," Ridha Béhi, Tunisia
"Azhagarsamy’s Horse," Suseendran, India
"Beauty," Oliver Hermanus, South Africa/France
"Blood of my Blood," João Canijo, Portugal
"Bonsái," Cristián Jiménez, Chile/France/Argentina/Portugal
"Colour of the Ocean," Maggie Peren, Germany
"Death for Sale," Faouzi Bensaidi, Belgium/France/Morocco
"Elena," Andrey Zvyagintsev, Russia
"Extraterrestrial," Nacho Vigalondo, Spain
"Footnote," Joseph Cedar, Israel
"The Forgiveness of Blood," Joshua Marston, USA/Albania/Denmark/Italy
"Free Men," Ismaël Ferroukhi, France
"From Up on Poppy Hill," Goro Miyazaki, Japan
"A Funny Man," Martin P. Zandvliet, Denmark
"Future Lasts Forever," Ozcan Alper, Turkey/France/Germany
"Good Bye Mohammad," Rasoulof, Iran
"Goodbye First Love," Mia Hansen-Løve, France/Germany
"Guilty," Vincent Garenq, France
"Gypsy," Martin Sulík, Slovakia
"Heleno," José Henrique Fonseca, Brazil
"Himizu," Sion Sono, Japan
"Hotel Swooni," Kaat Beels, Belgium
"Islands," Stefano Chiantini, Italy
"Juan of the Dead," Alejandro Brugués, Spain/Cuba
"Land of Oblivion," Michale Boganim, France/Germany/Poland/Ukraine
"Last Days in Jerusalem," Tawfik Abu Wael, France/Israel/Palestine/Germany
"Last Winter," John Shank, Belgium/France
"Lena," Christophe Van Rompaey, The Netherlands/Belgium
"Lipstikka," Jonathan Sagall, Israel/United Kingdom
"Lucky," Avie Luthra, South Africa/United Kingdom
"Man on Ground," Akin Omotoso, South Africa
"Michael," Ribhu Dasgupta, India
"Michael,"Markus Schleinzer, Austria
"Miss Bala," Gerardo Naranjo, Mexico
"Mr. Tree," Han Jie, China
"Omar Killed Me," Roschdy Zem, France
"Restoration," Yossi Madmony, Israel
"Rose," Wojciech Smarzowski, Poland
"Rough Hands," Mohamed Asli, Morocco
"A Separation," Asghar Farhadi, Iran
"The Silver Cliff," Karim Aïnouz, Brazil
"Sons of Norway," Jens Lien, Norway
"Superclásico," Ole Christian Madsen, Denmark
"Think of Me," Bryan Wizemann, USA
"UFO in her Eyes," Xiaolu Guo, Germany
"Union Square," Nancy Savoca, USA
"Your Sister’s Sister," Lynn Shelton, USA