TBS’ ‘Snowpiercer’ Trailer: Jennifer Connelly and Daveed Diggs Go Off the Rails (Video)

Comic-Con: Series based on the 2014 film from director Bong Joon-Ho will debut next year

TBS dropped the first footage of its hotly anticipated “Snowpiercer” series during the show’s panel at San Diego Comic-Con on Saturday. The trailer features stars Jennifer Connelly and Daveed Diggs as adversaries in this off-the-rails, post-apocalyptic thriller.

Fans can get a glimpse of just how much of a wreck this bonkers train is in the video above.

The series, which has already been renewed for a second season, is an adaptation of the 2014 Bong Joon-Ho film of the same name starring Chris Evans and Tilda Swinton. Set seven years after the world has become a frozen wasteland, the series centers on humanity’s survivors, who inhabit a gigantic, perpetually-moving train circling the globe.

Slated for a spring 2020 premiere on TBS, the project has overcome a number of development stumbles, including a contentious showrunner swap, extensive reshoots and a move from its original home at TNT.

Josh Friedman wrote the pilot and was set to serve as showrunner, but was replaced by “Orphan Black” co-creator Graeme Manson last year, a decision the network attributed to creative differences. Friedman later said he was “fired” from the project, and went after Manson on Twitter for taking over the show. Following Friedman’s exit, director Scott Derrickson exited the project due to a “radically different vision” from Manson, and was replaced by James Hawes.

Connelly, Diggs, Mickey Sumner, Susan Park, Benjamin Haigh, Sasha Frolova, Katie McGuinness, Alison Wright, Annalise Basso, Sam Otto, Roberto Urbina, Sheila Vand and Lena Hall make up the cast.

The series is produced by Tomorrow Studios along with CJ Entertainment, which produced the original film. In addition to Manson, Hawes and Derrickson, executive producers are Tomorrow’s Marty Adelstein and Becky Clements; Matthew O’Connor; and the original film’s producers Bong Joon Ho, Miky Lee, Tae-sung Jeong, Park Chan-wook, Lee Tae-hun and Dooho Choi.

TheWrap is in San Diego all week for Comic-Con 2019 — check out all of our ongoing coverage here.