TheWrap Lands 14 Nominations for LA Press Club Journalism Awards

L.A Press Club will announce the winners at June 24 ceremony

Default Social Image TheWrap Logo

TheWrap scored 14 nominations for this year’s Los Angeles Press Club Southern California Journalism Awards, the organization announced Thursday, including for Best Website of a News Organization Exclusive to the Internet.

Senior reporter Matt Donnelly picked up two nominations, for Best Entertainment Journalist and Best Entertainment Feature for “Indie Movie ‘Beach Rats’ Has a #BuryYourGays Problem – But It’s Not Backing Down.”

Awards editor Steve Pond also earned two nominations, in the Obituary category for “Tom Petty Appreciation: He Was Rocking to the End” and in Entertainment News for his exclusive breakdown of Oscars’ envelope-gate: “Oscars Stage Manager Details PwC Accountants’ Incompetence: ‘They Froze.’”

Tony Hale, Veep

TheWrap founder and editor-in-chief Sharon Waxman earned a Non-Political Commentary nod for “Harvey Weinstein’s Media Enablers? The New York Times Was One of Them” — and executive editor Tim Molloy was recognized for his humorous personal essay “What ‘It’ Gets Right About Being a Kid in 1989.”

Movie critic Alonso Duralde and theater critic Robert Hofler also earned nominations for their reviews, while film reporters Jeremy Fuster and Beatrice Verhoeven picked up a nod in Gender/LGBT Reporting for “Happy Women’s Day, Hollywood: Disney, Fox Have No Female Directors on This Year’s Movies.”

Chrissy Metz EmmyWrap Comedy Drama Actors

In addition TheWrap creative director Ada Guerin and her team picked up four awards for design and photography. Guerin and Eric Hernandez shared a nomination for print design for TheWrap Emmy Magazine’s Comedy-Drama-Actors issue.

Photographer Corina Marie’s photo essay of “This Is Us” breakout star Chrissy Metz was recognized (photo), along with two shots by Corey Nichols of “Veep” star Tony Hale, one in the Portrait category and one in Entertainment Photo (above).

The L.A. Press Club’s 60th Annual SoCal Journalism Awards will be held on June 24 at the Millennium Biltmore Hotel in Downtown Los Angeles.

Read the full list of nominees here.