We've Got Hollywood Covered

TheWrap Wins 4 National Arts & Entertainment Journalism Awards

Itay Hod and Sharon Waxman’s ”#AfterMeToo“ news feature goes home with two awards

TheWrap received four first place National Arts & Entertainment Journalism Awards on Sunday from the L.A. Press Club.

Itay Hod and Sharon Waxman’s “#AfterMeToo: 12 Accusers Share What Happened Next, From Firing to More Trauma” took home two awards — best multimedia package and best in-depth soft news.

Columnist Richard Stellar’s “Why Mr. Rogers Is the Perfect Movie Superhero for Our Times” won in the entertainment blog category, while photographer Steven Gerlich and creative director Ada Guerin were recognized for an action photo of dancer-choreographer Travis Wall.

sharon waxman la press club

TheWrap founder and Editor in Chief Sharon Waxman at the National Arts & Entertainment Journalism Awards

In addition, the site finished third for best online entertainment website, and Hod was the runner-up for best online journalist.

Shayan Asgharnia and Guerin finished second in portrait photo and cover art for their impressive shoot of “Barry” star Anthony Carrigan for TheWrap’s Emmy Magazine Comedy/Drama/Actors Issue.

COVER Anthony Carrigan, Barry

Elisabeth Caren and Guerin finished third in the feature photo category for a shot of “Game of Thrones” star Sophie Turner dressed as Selena Meyer of “Veep.”

Columnists Mary Murphy and Michele Willens also finished third in commentary analysis/trend — film for “When Will Washington Catch Up to Hollywood’s Vision of Women in Power?

The winners were announced Sunday at the Millennium Hotel in downtown Los Angeles. #MeToo influencer Tarana Burke received the Impact Award while director Quentin Tarantino accepted the Distinguished Storyteller Award. In addition, special awards also went to TCM’s Ben Mankiewicz, actor Danny Trejo and actress Ann-Margret.

The complete list of winners is here.