TheWrap Wins Top Honors at the National Arts & Entertainment Journalism Awards

Sharon Waxman’s WaxWord wins best entertainment blog at 9th annual ceremony

thewrap naej awards

TheWrap won top honors at the National Arts & Entertainment Journalism Awards on Sunday, including best entertainment blog and best feature photo.

In addition, TheWrap took second place for both Best Entertainment Website and Best Entertainment Publication, behind The Hollywood Reporter. TheWrap also won second place for its series “The Sony Hack: One Year Later,” by Matt Donnelly, Itay Hod and Beatrice Verhoeven in the hard news category.

The awards are given by the Los Angeles Press Club.

The WaxWord column by Sharon Waxman, founder and CEO of TheWrap, was recognized as best entertainment blog of the year.

In addition, creative director Ada Guerin and the NYC-based husband-wife photography duo HollenderX2 picked up the feature photo prize for an image of “Mr. Robot” star Rami Malek.

The 9th annual NAEJ Awards were presented during a ceremony at the Millennium Biltmore Hotel.

TheWrap was nominated for 13 awards, including for awards editor Steve Pond and reviews editor Alonso Duralde.

In addition to awards for print, broadcast and entertainment journalism, the L.A. Press Club offered three honorary awards.

Songwriter Diane Warren accepted the Visionary Award for her humanitarian work, Chelsea Handler collected the Luminary Award for career achievement and Angela Lansbury received the Legend Award for lifetime achievements and contributions to society.