Tilda Swinton and Bennett Miller to Be Honored at Gotham Awards

Dec. 1 ceremony in New York is top East Coast honor for independent film

Tilda Swinton and director Bennett Miller will be honored at the 24th annual Gotham Independent Film Awards on Dec. 1 in New York City, the Independent Feature Project announced on Thursday.

The Gotham Awards are the primary East Coast award for independent film, book-ending an awards season for indies that concludes with the Film Independent Spirit Awards in Los Angeles the day before the Oscars.

Swinton will be given the Gotham Actor Tribute for 30 years of “powerful and iconoclastic performances,” according to the IFP press release. Her work includes Sally Potter’s “Orlando,” Jim Jarmusch‘s “Only Lovers Left Alive” and “Broken Flowers” and Derek Jarman’s “Caravaggio The Last of England,” “War Requiem” and “Edward II,” among many others. This year she appeared in Wes Anderson‘s “The Grand Budapest Hotel” and Bong Joon-Ho’s “Snowpiercer.”

See video: Tilda Swinton Puts Chris Evans And His Revolution In Their Place in ‘Snowpiercer’ Clip (Video)

Miller, the director of Sony Classics’ upcoming “Foxcatcher,” for which he won the best director award at Cannes, will receive the Director Tribute. His other films include “Capote” and “Moneyball,” both of which received Oscar nominations for Best Picture. He is a previous Gotham winner for “Capote.”

Previously, Netflix’s Ted Sarandos was named recipient of the Gotham Industry Tribute.

The 2014 Gotham Awards will take place on the evening of Monday, Dec. 1 at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City. In addition to the three tributes, the evening will feature seven awards in competitive categories: Best Feature, Best Actress, Best Actor, Best Documentary, Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director, Breakthrough Actor and Audience Award.

Last year’s Gotham tributes went to director Richard Linklater, actors Forest Whitaker and the late James Gandolfini and the New York mayor’s office media entertainment commissioner, Katherine Oliver. The top competitive awards were won by Matthew McConaughey for “Dallas Buyers Club,” Brie Larson for “Short Term 12” and, for best feature, the Coen brothers’ “Inside Llewyn Davis.”

Gotham nominations are expected to be announced in late October.