How to Watch the 2018 Winter Olympics Opening Ceremony Live

You don’t have to wait for NBC’s time-shifted coverage Opening Ceremony Friday night to watch it

As is always the case when the Olympics take place in a time zone far removed from those of the United States, the bulk of NBC’s coverage of the 2018 Winter Olympics won’t be live, and the Opening Ceremony, during which each nation’s Olympic teams will parade into Olympic Stadium in PyeongChang, South Korea, is no exception.

Whereas NBC’s broadcast of the Opening Ceremony will take place in primetime at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT on Friday, the ceremony will actually have taken place 14 hours earlier at 6 a.m. ET/3 a.m. PT. Though watching the Opening Ceremony live doesn’t carry quite the same urgency as it does with the sporting events themselves, there’s still something special about watching the festivities and the lighting of the Olympic torch when it actually happens. And you’ll be able to do exactly that, thanks to NBC Sports’ thorough livestream setup.

NBC Sports is making every event at this Winter Olympics available live via online streaming, and that includes the Opening Ceremony on Friday. The presentation won’t be the same as it will be on NBC Friday night, however — the livestream will feature no commentary, only the natural sound from inside the stadium.

You’ll be able to watch it on NBCOlympics.com, as well as on the NBC Sports app on any device it’s available for — including phones, tablets and streaming boxes like the Apple TV, Roku and Amazon Fire TV. Watching the stream will require a login from a valid TV provider.

Should you choose to watch NBC’s presentation Friday night you’ll be able to do so online in those same places, and with the same TV provider requirement. NBC’s primetime presentation will be hosted by Mike Tirico and Katie Couric.