Watch the Oscar Nominations Announcement (Livestream)

Kumail Nanjiani and Tracee Ellis Ross will announce this year’s Oscar nominees

Hollywood will be up before the crack of dawn on Tuesday morning with the 2019 Oscar nominees set to be announced at the Samuel Goldwyn Theatre.

Kumail Nanjiani and Tracee Ellis Ross will unveil the list of nominees in the 24 Oscar categories starting at 8:20 a.m. EST/5:20 a.m. PST. The announcement will be broadcast on ABC nationwide, and can also be streamed via the Oscars’ YouTube page, which you can view above.

The announcement will begin with the nominations for Best Supporting Actor, Supporting Actress, Film Editing, Original Score, Costume Design, Animated Short, Live-Action Short, Sound Editing and Sound Mixing. After a brief break, the nominations in the remaining categories, including Best Picture, will be announced at 8:30 a.m EST/5:30 a.m. PST.

While there are some favorites, there is still no clear frontrunner among this year’s field. Peter Farrelly’s “Green Book” comes in with the momentum of winning the top prize at the Golden Globes and the Producer’s Guild Awards, but also comes with a significant cultural backlash. Alfonso Cuaron’s “Roma” is the critics’ favorite, but has ruffled some feathers in the industry with Netflix’s release strategy. Then there are the popular favorites, like “A Star Is Born,” “Bohemian Rhapsody,” and the film that could earn Marvel Studios their first Best Picture nomination, “Black Panther.”

The 91st Academy Awards will be broadcast on ABC on Sunday, February 24 at 8 p.m EST/5 p.m. PST. Check out TheWrap awards guru Steve Pond’s predictions in the gallery below.

Keep
Reading...

Looks like you’re enjoying reading
Keep reading by creating
a free account or logging in.