WGA Names Nominees for First New-Media Writing Awards

“30 Rock” and “The Office” spinoffs among nominees as guild honors writers for all new-media platforms

Last Updated: January 11, 2011 @ 10:36 AM

New Media has taken another step toward legitimization. The Writers Guild of America has announced its nominations for the first WGA New Media Writing Awards.

Awards will cover both original writing, and “derivative” writing, based on an existing television show or motion picture that was produced for traditional media.

Nominees in the Derivative New Media category include spinoffs of the television shows "The Office" and "30 Rock," while the Original New Media category singled out five original creations, including "Anyone But Me," "Concierge: The Series" and "The Five Faces Project."

Winners will be honored at the 2011 Writers Guild Awards on Feb. 5 at simultaneous ceremonies in New York and Los Angeles.

And the nominees are:

Outstanding Achievement in Writing Original New Media

“The Real Thing,” ”Identity Crisis,” “Girl Talk,” ”Naming Things,” “Curtain Up” (Anyone But Me), Story by Susan Miller, Tina Cesa Ward, Written by Susan Miller, Tina Cesa Ward; AnyoneButMeSeries.com

“Episode 1,” “Episode 4,” Episode 5,” Episode 6,” “Episode 7” (All’s Faire), Written by Thom Woodley; Allsfaire.tv

“Episode 1: We’ve Got Flash,” “Episode 2: Complimentary Sandwiches,” “Episode 3: Perfect Resume Builder” (Concierge: The Series), Written by Timothy Cooper, ConciergeTheSeries.com  

“The Shadow” (The Five Faces Project), Written by Michael A. Nixon, superunofficial.com

“Zac” (Madison Avery), Written by Gregory Storm; stormfactory.com

Outstanding Achievement in Writing Derivative New Media

“Webisode One: Moving On,” “Webisode Two: Lights, Camera, Action!,” “Webisode Three: The Final Product” (The 3rd Floor, The Office Webisodes), written by Kelly Hannon, Jonathan Hughes, Mary Wall; nbc.com

“Strip Pong,” “Tear Jerks,” Brainstorm, (Frank vs. Lutz), 30 Rock New Media, written byJon Haller; nbc.com

To be eligible for the new media awards, the program or episode must have first been exhibited on a new media platform like the internet or mobile between Dec. 1, 2009, and Nov. 30, 2010.

Only work written and produced under a WGA collective bargaining agreement and for which the guilds have determined the writing credits are eligible.


Looks like you’re enjoying reading
Keep reading by creating
a free account or logging in.