American Society of Cinematographers Gives Top Award to Roger Deakins, Again

The “1917” cinematographer wins his fifth ASC award; Spotlight and and documentary awards go to “The Lighthouse” and “Honeyland”

George Mackay,1917
"1917" / Universal PIctures

“1917” cinematographer Roger Deakins has won the award for the best feature-film cinematography of 2019 at the American Society of Cinematographers Awards, which were handed out on Saturday night in Los Angeles.

The win was Deakins’ fifth from the ASC, tying him with Emmanuel Lubezki for the most ever. It was also his third win in the past decade, after “Skyfall” in 2013 and “Blade Runner 2049” in 2018.

Deakins is favored to win his second Oscar for his work on a film that was designed to look like one long, continuous shot. It came about half an hour after Sam Mendes won the Directors Guild Award for that film.

The Spotlight Award, which goes to a film that has not received wide theatrical distribution, went to Oscar nominee Jarin Blaschke for “The Lighthouse,” while the ASC’s first documentary award went to “Honeyland.”

Television awards were given to “The Handmaid’s Tale,” “The Terror: Infamy” and “Project Blue Book.”

Over the 33 previous years of the ASC Awards, the winner has gone on to receive the Oscar for Best Cinematography less than half the time. Last year, the ASC Award went to Lukasz Zal for “Cold War,” while the Oscar went to Alfonso Cuaron for “Cold War.”

The winners:

Theatrical Release: Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for “1917”
Spotlight Award: Jarin Blaschke for “The Lighthouse”
Documentary: Fejmi Daut and Samir Ljuma – “Honeyland”
Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television: Colin Watkinson, ASC, BSC – “The Handmaid’s Tale,” “Night” (Hulu)
Episode of a Series for Commercial Television: C. Kim Miles, CSC, MySC – “Project Blue Book,” “The Flatwoods Monster” (History)
Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television: John Conroy, ISC – “The Terror: Infamy,” “A Sparrow in a Swallow’s Nest” (AMC)