We've Got Hollywood Covered

Cannes Calls 12 More to Jury Duty

Un Certain Regard and Camera d’Or juries will consist of a dozen international directors, actors, technicians and journalists

Directors Pablo Trapero and Nicole Garcia will lead two juries composed of six men and six women in the Cannes Film Festival’s Un Certain Regard and Camera d’Or competitions, festival organizers announced on Sunday.

The Un Certain Regard jury, which will judge the 20 films in competition in that section, is headed by Argentinian director Pablo Trapero (“White Elephant,” “Carancho”) and also includes Criterion Collection president Peter Becker, actresses Maria Bonnevie (“I Am Dina”) and Géraldine Pailhas (“Don Juan DeMarco”) and Senegalese writer-director Moussa Touré (“La Pirogue”).

The films they will consider include Ryan Gosling‘s “Lost River,” “Ned Benson’s “The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby” and Mathieu Amalric’s “The Blue Room.”

Also read: Cannes Lineup Includes Ryan Gosling, Tommy Lee Jones, Bennett Miller Films

The Un Certain Regard prizes will be awarded on Friday, May 23, the day before the main competition prize ceremony.

Camera d’Or jurors include actress-director Nicole Garcia (“My American Uncle”), who will head the jury, along with actor Richard Anconina (“The Little Gangster”), director Helena Klotz (“L’age atomique”), director-cinematographer Philippe Van Leeuw (“The Life of Jesus”), visual effects artist Gilles Gaillard and journalists Lisa Nesselson and Sophie Grassin.

The Camera d’Or will be awarded at the main ceremony to honor a director’s debut film. It is open to any first-time film in the official selection, Directors’ Fortnight and Critics’ Week sections.

Also read: ‘Neighbors’ Spanks Spidey in $51 Million Box-Office Blowout

Cannes previously announced the main competition jury, which is headed by director Jane Campion and includes directors Sofia Coppola and Nicolas Winding Refn, actors Gael Garcia Bernal and Willem Dafoe and actress Carole Bouquet.

The 2014 Cannes Film Festival will begin on Wednesday with the premiere of “Grace of Monaco,” and continue through May 25.

Un Certain Regard jury:
President: Pablo Trapero, director, scriptwriter, producer (Argentina)
Peter Becker, president of the Criterion Collection (USA)
Maria Bonnevie, actress (Norway / Sweden)
Géraldine Pailhas, actress (France)
Moussa Touré, director, scriptwriter, producer (Sénégal)

Camera d’Or jury:
President: Nicole Garcia, actress and director
Richard Anconina, actor
Gilles Gaillard, technician
Sophie Grassin, journalist and critic
Héléna Klotz, director
Lisa Nesselson, journalist
Philippe Van Leeuw, director, cameraman