We've Got Hollywood Covered

Cannes Winner ‘Mommy’ Heads Canadian Slate at Toronto Film Fest

New additions to festival include features starring Scott Speedman, Patricia Clarkson and Catherine Keener


Xavier Dolan’s “Mommy,” which won the Jury Prize at this year’s Cannes Film Festival, will be among the Canadian features screened at the 2014 Toronto International Film Festival, TIFF organizers announced on Wednesday.

“Mommy” was one of more than two dozen features and 46 short films from Canada announced at a press conference in Toronto. The films are spread out across many different sections of the festival, and include work from such celebrated Canadian directors as Denys Arcand, Atom Egoyan and Ruba Nadda.

In addition to directing “Mommy,” the 25-year-old Dolan stars as a disturbed young man alongside Bruce Greenwood and Catherine Keener in another Canadian feature in the selection, Charles Binane’s “The Elephant Song.”

Also read: Xavier Dolan’s ‘Mommy’ Brings a Wild, Lusty Coming of Age to Cannes

The five Canadian features added to the Special Presentations section are “Mommy”; “The Elephant Song”; Arcand’s “An Eye for Beauty,” with Melanie Thierry and Eric Bruneau; Ruba Nadda’s “October Gale,” with Patricia Clarkson, Scott Speedman and Tim Roth; and Jacob Tierney’s “Preggoland,” with Sonja Bennett.

The TIFF Docs section has added three Canadian documentaries, all world premieres: Sturla Gunnarsson’s “Monsoon,” a look at the environment, belief and culture of India; Harold Crooks’ “The Price We Pay” (“La Face cache de l’impot”), about corporate tax avoidance; and Amer Shomali’s and Paul Cowan’s “The Wanted 18,” a tragicomic story of 18 cows who became a symbol of resistance during the first Palestinian Intifada.

The Discovery section will include 10 Canadian films, all world premieres. They include Adam MacDonald’s wilderness saga “Backcountry,” Albert Shin’s South Korea-set “In Her Place” and Kyle Thomas’ four-part small-town narrative “The Valley Below.”

Also read: Film Festival Scramble: Telluride Loses Its Surprises as Toronto Gets Tough

Six Canadian films, including Stephane Lafleur’s “Tu dors Nicole,” Andrea Dorfman’s “Heartbeat,” Rodrigue Jean’s “Love in the Time of Civil War” and Blaine Thurier’s “Teen Lust,” have been added to the Contemporary World Cinema section.

Matthew Kennedy’s “The Editor” will join the Midnight Madness section, Alanis Obomsawin’s documentary “Trick or Treaty?” will join the Masters program, and two Canadian features have been added to the TIFF Cinematheque program of revival screenings: Atom Egoyan’s 1989 drama “Speaking Parts” and John Paizs’ pulp-styled 1985 film “Crime Wave.”

Canadian artist Lynne March’s video installation “Anna and the Tower” will run daily during the festival as part of the Future Projections program of installations, while four Canadian shorts will be part of the Wavelengths program of multi-media work.

The festival also announced the 42 Canadian short films that will make up the Short Cuts Canada program. The selection includes “Me and My Moulton” from Oscar-winning director Torill Kove (“The Danish Poet”) and the short documentary “Red Alert” from Barry Avrich. The complete list of shorts can be found below, and in greater detail on the TIFF website.

See video: Jessica Chastain and Colin Farrell Play Games of Sex and Power in First ‘Miss Julie’ Trailer (Video)

Additional programming, including the Mavericks, City to City, TIFF Kids and Next Wave sections, and the bulk of the Discovery and Contemporary World Cinema programs, will be announced in upcoming weeks.

The festival runs from Sept. 4 through Sept. 14.

Also read: Robert Downey Jr. Drama ‘The Judge’ to Open Toronto Film Festival

The added programs:

“An Eye for Beauty”
(“Le règne de la beauté”), Denys Arcand / Toronto Premiere
“The Elephant Song,” Charles Binane / World Premiere
“Mommy,” Xavier Dolan / Toronto Premiere
“October Gale,” Ruba Nadda / World Premiere
“Preggoland,” Jacob Tierney / World Premiere

Sturla Gunnarsson / World Premiere
“The Price We Pay” (“La Face cachée de l’impôt”), Harold Crooks / World Premiere
“The Wanted 18,” Amer Shomali and Paul Cowan / World Premiere

Adam MacDonald / World Premiere
“Bang Bang Baby,” Jeffrey St. Jules / World Premiere
“Big Muddy,” Jefferson Moneo / World Premiere
“Corbo,” Mathieu Denis / World Premiere
“Guidance,” Pat Mills / World Premiere
“In Her Place,” Albert Shin / World Premiere
“Songs She Wrote About People She Knows,” Kris Elgstrand / World Premiere
“The Valley Below,” Kyle Thomas / World Premiere
“We Were Wolves,” Jordan Canning / World Premiere
“Wet Bum,” Lindsay Mackay / World Premiere

“Félix and Meira,”
Maxime Giroux / World Premiere
“Heartbeat,” Andrea Dorfman / World Premiere
“Love in the Time of Civil War” (“L’amour au temps de la guerre civile”), Rodrigue Jean / World Premiere
“Teen Lust,” Blaine Thurier / World Premiere
“Tu dors Nicole,” Stéphane Lafleur / Toronto Premiere

“The Editor,”
Matthew Kennedy and Adam Brooks / World Premiere

“Trick or Treaty?”
Alanis Obomsawin / World Premiere

“Speaking Parts,”
Atom Egoyan
“Crime Wave,” John Paizs

“brouillard – passage #14,”
Alexandre Larose / World Premiere
“The Innocents,” Jean-Paul Kelly / World Premiere
“Red Capriccio,” Blake Williams / World Premiere
“Lunar Almanac,” Malena Szlam / Toronto Premiere

“Anna and the Tower,”
Lynne Marsh / World Premiere

David Cronenberg’s “Maps to the Stars” was previously announced in the Gala program.

“An Apartment,”
Sarah Galea-Davis
“Around Is Around,” Norman McLaren
“The Barnhouse” (“La Grange”), Caroline Mailloux
“Bison,” Kevan Funk
“Broken Face” (“Sale Gueule”), Alain Fournier
“Burnt Grass,” Ray Wong
“Chainreaction,” Dana Gingras
“Chamber Drama,” Jeffrey Zablotny
“CODA,” Denis Poulin and Martine Époque
“Day 40,” Sol Friedman
“Del Ciego Desert,” François Leduc
“A Delusion of Grandeur” (“Une idée de grandeur”), Vincent Biron
“The Encounter” (“La Rencontre”) Frieda Luk
“Entangled,” Tony Elliott
“Father,” Jordan Tannahill
“Fire” (“Fuoco”), Raha Shirazi
“Godhead,” Connor Gaston
“Hole,” Martin Edralin
“Indigo,” Amanda Strong
“Intruders,” Santiago Menghini
“Kajutaijuq: The Spirit That Comes,” Scott Brachmayer
“Last Night,” Arlen Konopaki
“Light,” Yassmina Karajah
“Liompa,” Elizabeth Lazebnik
“Luk’Luk’I : Mother,” Wayne Wapeemukwa
“Me and My Moulton,” Torill Kove
“Migration,” Flourescent Hill
“Mynarski Death Plummet” (“Mynarski chute mortelle”), Matthew Rankin
“O Canada,” Evelyn Lambart
“On Cement” (“Sur le ciment”) Robin Aubert
“Red Alert,” Barry Avrich
“Running Season,” Grayson Moore
“Sahar,” Alexander Farah
“The Sands” (“Plage de sable”) Marie-Ève Juste
“Sleeping Giant” (“Géant Endormi”) Andrew Cividino
“Still,” Slater Jewell-Kemker
“Take Me” (“Prends-moi”) André Turpin and Anaïs Barbeau-Lavalette
“A Tomb with a View,” Ryan J. Noth
“The Underground,” Michelle Latimer
“The Weatherman and the Shadowboxer,” Randall Okita
“What Doesn’t Kill You,” Rob Grant
“Zero Recognition,” Ben Lewi