Chelsea Handler, Rami Malek and Bob Newhart Join Television Academy’s Salute to Broadcast Networks

Jon Cryer, Allison Janney, Regina King and Garry Marshall will also help induct ABC, CBS, Fox and NBC into Academy’s Hall of Fame

Chelsea Handler
Getty Images

Jon Cryer, Chelsea Handler, Allison Janney, Regina King, Rami Malek, Garry Marshall and Bob Newhart will participate in the Television Academy’s 70th anniversary gala, which will take place on June 2 at the Academy’s renovated and expanded North Hollywood, California, headquarters.

The seven celebrity guests are the first to be announced for the event, which will induct the broadcast networks ABC, CBS, Fox and NBC into the Academy’s Hall of Fame, making them the first television institutions to be so honored.

The gala will take place in the new Saban Media Center at Television Academy headquarters, which has undergone an expansion funded by a $40 million capital campaign. The Center will include a 600-seat theater, production facilities, office space and a conference center.

The awards for the broadcast networks will be accepted by Ben Sherwood for ABC, Nina Tassler for CBS, Peter Rice for Fox and Robert Greenblatt for NBC.

Television personalities and creators from across the history of broadcast TV are also expected to be on hand to celebrate the medium and pose for a “class photo.”