Editor Dody Dorn Wins Runoff Election for Academy’s Board of Governors

Dorn defeated Mark Goldblatt in the runoff, giving the board a record 25 women and making him the only incumbent governor to lose a re-election bid this year

Last Updated: June 20, 2019 @ 10:33 AM


Dody Dorn has won a runoff election with Mark Goldblatt to represent the Film Editors Branch on the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Board of Governors, the Academy announced on Thursday.

Dorn and Goldblatt had tied in the initial election for one of the branch’s three seats. She will serve a three-year term, and will join returning governors Carol Littleton and Michael Tronick in representing the branch on the 54-member board.

Each of the Academy’s 17 branches is represented by three governors who serve staggered three-year terms so that one seat is up for election each year.

The victory for Dorn, whose work as an editor includes “Memento,” “Kingdom of Heaven” and “End of Watch,” makes Goldblatt the only sitting governor to lose a re-election bid this year. The other 10 governors who ran for re-election all won.

Her election also raises to 25 the number of women on the board, a new record for the Academy.

The 2019-2020 board will vote to invite new members to the Academy at the end of June and will elect a new president in early August.