We've Got Hollywood Covered

Jordan Peele’s ‘Get Out’ Leads Gotham Awards Nominations

Other nominations in the independent film awards went to ”The Florida Project,“ ”Call Me By Your Name,“ ”Good Time,“ ”I, Tonya“ and ”Lady Bird“


Jordan Peele’s hit horror film “Get Out” led all films in nominations for the 27th annual IFP Gotham Awards, the Independent Filmmaker Project announced on Thursday.

“Get Out” received four nominations, including Best Feature, Best Screenplay, Best Actor for Daniel Kaluuya and the Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award.

Other movies nominated for Best Feature at the awards, which are designed to celebrate independent film, are Luca Guadagnino’s “Call Me By Your Name,” Sean Baker’s “The Florida Project,” Josh and Bennie Safdie’s “Good Time” and Craig Gillespie’s “I, Tonya.”

Acting nominees include a couple of likely Oscar contenders (Willem Dafoe in “The Florida Project,” Saoirse Ronan in “Lady Bird”) along with Kaluuya, James Franco in “The Disaster Artist,” Robert Pattinson in “Good Time,” Adam Sandler in “The Meyerowitz Stories,” Melanie Lynskey in “I Don’t Feel at Home in This World Anymore,” Haley Lu Richardson in “Columbus,” Margot Robbie in “I, Tonya” and Lois Smith in “Marjorie Prime.”

The late Harry Dean Stanton was nominated for his final film, “Lucky.”

TV nominations went to “Atlanta,” “Better Things,” “Dear White People,” “Fleabag” and “Search Party.”

Previously announced tributes will go to director Sofia Coppola, actors Dustin Hoffman and Nicole Kidman, producer Jason Blum, cinematographer Ed Lachman and humanitarian and climate-change activist Al Gore.

The New York-based Gotham Awards are one of the two major honors for independent film, and will be presented early in awards season, on November 27 at Cipriani Wall Street.

The other major indie awards show, the Film Independent Spirit Awards, takes place in Los Angeles at the end of the season, the day before the Oscars.

Gotham nominees are selected by a number of different juries consisting largely of film critics. Films must meet a variety of fairly nebulous requirements, including being “filmmaking with a point of view” that is “made with an economy of means” and is directed and/or produced by a filmmaker born or based in the United States.

In the last six years, nominees in the top Gotham category have ranged from a high of three Oscar Best Picture nominees (in 2010 and 2014) to a low of none (in 2012). Last year, Gotham and Oscar winner “Moonlight” was joined in the category by Oscar nominee “Manchester by the Sea” and by the smaller indies “Certain Women,” “Paterson” and “Everybody Wants Some!!”

Over the 13 years since the Gotham Awards introduced the Best Feature category, the winner has subsequently won the Oscar only four times — but those four have all come in the last eight years, including the last three years in a row with “Birdman” in 2014, “Spotlight” in 2015 and “Moonlight” last year.

The Gotham Awards nominees:

Best Feature

“Call Me by Your Name”
Luca Guadagnino, director; Peter Spears, Luca Guadagnino, Emilie Georges, Rodrigo Teixeira, Marco Morabito, James Ivory, Howard Rosenman, producers (Sony Pictures Classics)

“The Florida Project”
Sean Baker, director; Sean Baker, Chris Bergoch, Kevin Chinoy, Andrew Duncan, Alex Saks, Francesca Silvestri, Shih-Ching Tsou, producers (A24)

“Get Out”
Jordan Peele, director; Sean McKittrick, Jason Blum, Edward H. Hamm, Jr., Jordan Peele, producers (Universal Pictures)

“Good Time”
Josh and Benny Sadie, directors; Paris Kasidokostas-Latsis, Terry Dougas, Sebastian Bear-McClard, Oscar Boyson, producers (A24)

“I, Tonya”
Craig Gillespie, director; Bryan Unkeless, Steven Rogers, Margot Robbie, Tom Ackerley, producers (NEON)

Best Documentary

“Ex Libris – The New York Public Library”
Frederick Wiseman, director and producer (Zipporah Films)

“Rat Film”
Theo Anthony, director; Riel Roch-Decter, Sebastian Pardo, producers (MEMORY and Cinema Guild)

“Strong Island”
Yance Ford, director; Yance Ford, Joslyn Barnes, producers (Netflix)

“Whose Streets?”
Sabaah Folayan, Damon Davis, directors; Sabaah Folayan, Damon Davis, Jennifer MacArthur, Flannery Miller, producers (Magnolia Pictures)

“The Work”
Jairus McLeary, director; Alice Henty, Eon McLeary, Jairus McLeary, Miles McLeary, producers (The Orchard and First Look Media)

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
Maggie Betts for “Novitiate” (Sony Pictures Classics)
Greta Gerwig for “Lady Bird” (A24)
Kogonada for “Columbus” (Superlative Films/Depth of Field)
Jordan Peele for “Get Out” (Universal Pictures)
Joshua Z Weinstein for “Menashe” (A24)

Best Screenplay

“The Big Sick”, Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani (Amazon Studios)
“Brad’s Status,” Mike White (Amazon Studios)
“Call Me by Your Name,” James Ivory (Sony Pictures Classics)
“Columbus,” Kogonada (Superlative Films/Depth of Field)
“Get Out,” Jordan Peele (Universal Pictures)
“Lady Bird,” Greta Gerwig (A24)

Best Actor
Willem Dafoe in “The Florida Project” (A24)
James Franco in “The Disaster Artist” (A24)
Daniel Kaluuya in “Get Out” (Universal Pictures)
Robert Pattinson in “Good Time” (A24)
Adam Sandler in “The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Selected)” (Netflix)
Harry Dean Stanton in “Lucky” (Magnolia Pictures)

Best Actress
Melanie Lynskey in “I Don’t Feel at Home in This World Anymore” (Netflix)
Haley Lu Richardson in “Columbus” (Superlative Films/Depth of Field)
Margot Robbie in “I, Tonya” (NEON)
Saoirse Ronan in “Lady Bird” (A24)
Lois Smith in “Marjorie Prime” (FilmRise)

Breakthrough Actor
Mary J. Blige in “Mudbound” (Netflix)
Timothée Chalamet in “Call Me by Your Name” (Sony Pictures Classics)
Harris Dickinson in “Beach Rats” (NEON)
Kelvin Harrison, Jr. in “It Comes at Night” (A24)
Brooklynn Prince in “The Florida Project” (A24)

Special Gotham Jury Award for ensemble performance
“Mudbound,” Carey Mulligan, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Clarke, Jason Mitchell, Mary J. Blige, Rob Morgan, and Jonathan Banks.

Breakthrough Series – Long Form

“Atlanta,” Donald Glover, creator; Donald Glover, Dianne McGunigle, Paul Simms, executive producers (FX Networks)

“Better Things,” Pamela Adlon, Louis C.K., creators; Dave Becky, M. Blair Breard, Louis C.K., Pamela Adlon, executive producers (FX Networks)

“Dear White People,” Justin Simien, creator; Yvette Bowser, Justin Simien, Stephanie Allain, Julia Lebedev, executive producers (Netflix)

“Fleabag,” Phoebe Waller-Bridge, creator; Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Harry Williams, Jack Williams, executive producers (Amazon)

“Search Party,” Sarah-Violet Bliss, Charles Rogers, Michael Showalter, creators; Sarah-Violet Bliss, Charles Rogers, Michael Showalter, Tony Hernandez, Lilly Burns, executive producers (TBS)

Breakthrough Series – Short Form

“555,” Kate Berlant, Andrew DeYoung and John Early, creators (Vimeo)
“Inconceivable,” Joel Ashton McCarthy, creator (YouTube)
“Junior,” Zoe Cassavetes, creator (Blackpills and VICE)
“Let Me Die a Nun,” Sarah Salovaara, creator (Vimeo)
“The Strange Eyes of Dr. Myes,” Nancy Andrews, creator (YouTube)

(Additional credits to be determined.)