‘A Marine Story’ Wins Top Outfest Awards

Film about “don’t ask, don’t tell policy” wins three awards at gay and lesbian festival

Director Ned Farr’s “A Marine Story” was the big winner at the 2010 Outfest, Los Angeles’ annual festival devoted to lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LBGT) films.  The film won the jury award for U.S. Narrative Feature and the audience award for Narrative Feature, while Dreya Weber, who stars as a Marine adjusting to civilian life after being discharged under the “don’t ask, don’t tell policy,” was given the jury’s Best Actress award. 

The Outfest awards were handed out in a Sunday ceremony at the DGA Theater in West Hollywood, where the festival had been headquartered for the past 11 days. 

A Marine Story“The Secret Diaries of Miss Anne Lister” was honored as best International Feature, while the Documentary Feature award went to “Strange Powers: Stephin Merritt and the Magnetic Fields.”

The jury named Stephen Guarino of “Bearcity” as best Actor in a Feature Film, while Douglas Langway and Lawrence Ferber won the screenwriting sward for that same film. 

Other audience feature awards went to “The Four Faced Liar” (First Narrative Feature) and “Forever’s Gonna Start Tonight” (Documentary Feature).

Films winning short film awards included “Samaratin,” “Close (Pod Bluzka),” “You Move Me” and “I’m Just Anneke.”

The awards:

Grand Jury Awards
US Narrative Feature:  “A Marine Story,” Ned Farr
International Feature:  “The Secret Diaries of Miss Anne Lister,” James Kent
Documentary Feature:  “Strange Powers:  Stephin Merritt and the Magnetic Fields,” Kerthy Fix and Gail O’Hara
Narrative Short Film:  “Samaratin,” Magnus Mork
Documentary Short Film:  “Close (Pod Bluzka),” Lucia Von Horn Pagano
Screenwriting:  Douglas Langway and Lawrence Ferber, “Bearcity”
Actor in a Feature Film:  Stephen Guarino, “Bearcity”
Actress in a Feature Film:  Dreya Weber, “A Marine Story”

Audience Awards
First Narrative Feature:  “The Four-Faced Liar,”  Jacob Chase
Narrative Feature:  “A Marine Story,” Ned Farr
Documentary Feature:  “Forever’s Gonna Start Tonight,” Michelle Lawler
Narrative Short Film:  “You Move Me,” Gina Hirsch
Documentary Short Film:  “I’m Just Anneke,” Jonathan Skurnik

Special Programming Awards
Freedom Award:  “The Topp Twins:  Untouchable Girls,”  Leanne Pooley
Outstanding Emerging Talent: Drew Droege, "Go Go Reject," "Fagney and Gaycey"
Outstanding Artistic Achievement: "Undertow (Contracorriente)," Javier Fuentes-Leon


The news
you need now,
more than ever.

Create a FREE Account
Try PRO today