We've Got Hollywood Covered

Marthe Keller, Ruben Ostlund, Diego Luna Get Jury Duty at Cannes

The festival’s Un Certain Regard, Camera d’Or and Short Films and Cinefondation panels also include Radu Muntean, Naomi Kawase and Josée Croze


Actors Marthe Keller and Diego Luna and directors Ruben Ostlund, Naomi Kawase and Radu Muntean have been named to three juries at the 2016 Cannes Film Festival, which begins on May 11 in the south of France.

The Un Certain Regard jury consists of Swiss actress Keller, who will serve as president, in addition to French actress Celine Sallette, Swedish director Ostlund and Mexican actor and director Diego Luna. The jury will pick winners from among the 18 films in the Un Certain Regard section of the festival, which focuses on younger and more experimental directors than the main competition.

The Short Films and Cinefondation jury consists of Japanese director Kawase (president), French-Canadian actress Maria- Josée Croze, French writer-director Jean-Marie Larrieu, Romanian writer-director Muntean and Argentinian writer-director and playwright Santiago Loza.

The jury will pick three winning student films from the 18 student films in the Cinefondation section, and a single film from among the 10 competing for the Short Film Palme d’Or.

The Camera d’Or jury chooses the best first film from the official selection, Critics’ Week and Directors’ Fortnight, and is made up of five executives from cinema organizations: Catherine Corsini, Jean-Christophe Berjon, Alexander Rodnyansky, Isabelle Frilley and Jean-Marie Drejou.

The Main Competition jury, which was previously announced, includes actors Kirsten Dunst, Mads Mikkelsen and Donald Sutherland, directors Laszlo Nemes and Arnaud Desplechin and its president, “Mad Max” director George Miller.

Cannes runs from May 11 through May 22 this year, with the main awards handed out at a ceremony on closing night.

The juries:

Un Certain Regard
President: Marthe Keller, actress (Switzerland)
Céline Sallette, actress (France)
Ruben ?-stlund, director (Sweden)
Diego Luna, actor, director and producer (Mexico)

Short Films and Cinéfondation
President: Naomi Kawase, director and writer (Japan)
Marie-Josée Croze, actress (Canada, France)
Jean-Marie Larrieu, director and screenwriter (France)
Radu Muntean, director and screenwriter (Romania)
Santiago Loza, director, playwright and writer (Argentina)

Caméra d’or
President: Catherine Corsini (Director, Société des Réalisateurs de Films – SRF)
Jean-Christophe Berjon (Syndicat Français de la Critique de Cinéma – SFCC)
Alexander Rodnyansky (invited guest – Producer, Russia)
Isabelle Frilley (Fédération des Industries du Cinéma, de l’Audiovisuel et du Multimédia – FICAM)
Jean-Marie Dreujou (Association Française des directeurs de la photographie Cinématographique – AFC)