Paul Greengrass, Jonah Hill Movies Part of Huge Addition to Toronto Film Festival Lineup

Greengrass’ “22 July” and Hill’s “Mid90s” will join more than 100 new features and shorts in the Toronto lineup

"Mid90s" / A24

The Toronto International Film Festival has added a lineup of directors that range from Paul Greengrass to Jonah Hill and includes a large contingent of celebrated international auteurs.

The more than 100 additions to the Toronto lineup include Greengrass’ “22 July,” about 2011 terrorist attacks in Norway; Hill’s feature directorial debut, “Mid90s,” with Katherine Waterston and Lucas Hedges in a story of a Southern California teen who discovers skateboarding; “Green Book,” from “There’s Something About Mary” and “Dumb and Dumber” director Peter Farrelly; and Joel Edgerton’s “Boy Erased,” a coming-of-age drama written and directed by Edgerton and starring Nicole Kidman, Russell Crowe, and Lucas Hedges as a teen who is put in a gay conversion program.

The new films span five different sections of the festival: Galas, Special Presentations, Masters, Contemporary World Cinema and Wavelengths.

The four new additions to TIFF’s Galas program include “Green Book,” “The Killing” creator Veena Sud’s “The Lie” and two films that were announced earlier on Tuesday, David Mackenzie’s “Outlaw King” and Justin Kelly’s “Jeremiah Terminator LeRoy.”

New Special Presentations include “Boy Erased”; “Mid90s”; “Green Room” director Jeremy Saulnier’s “Hold the Dark”; Sam Taylor-Johnson’s “A Million Little Pieces”; and Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck’s “Never Look Away,” the first film in eight years for the German director whose 2006 film “The Lives of Others” won the Oscar, but who hasn’t made a film since “The Tourist” in 2010.

They also include Sebastian Lelio’s “Gloria Bell,” the English-language remake of the Chilean director’s acclaimed 2013 film “Gloria,” starring Paulina Garcia. Julianne Moore stars in the new version from Lelio, whose “A Fantastic Woman” won the foreign-language Oscar in March.

TIFF’s Masters section consists of 11 films from esteemed international directors, including Jafar Panahi (“3 Faces”), Jia Zhang-ke (“Ash Is Purest White”), Paolo Sorrentino (“Loro”), Mike Leigh (“Peterloo”), Jean-Luc Godard (“The Image Book”) and Nuri Bilge Ceylan (“The Wild Pear Tree”).

Films in the Contemporary World Cinema program include Cristina Gallego and Ciro Guerra’s “Birds of Passage,” Ali Abbasi’s “Border” (the troll-sex movie that won the Un Certain Regard prize in Cannes) and Sergei Loznitsa’s powerful “Donbass.”

And the Wavelengths section, which is devoted to challenging short and feature-length films, will include a new short from Thai legend Apichatpong Weerasethakul, as well as Bi Gan’s acclaimed “Long Day’s Journey Into Night” and Wang Bing’s eight-hour documentary “Dead Souls.”

The 43rd annual Toronto International Film Festival will run from Sept. 6-16. Additional programming will be announced in the next week, with the full schedule revealed on Aug. 21.

The new additions:

“Green Book,” Peter Farrelly
“Jeremiah Terminator LeRoy,” Justin Kelly (closing night)
“The Lie,” Veena Sud
“Outlaw King,” David Mackenzie (opening night)

“American Woman,” Jake Scott
“Baby” (“Bao Bei Er”), Liu Jie
“Boy Erased,” Joel Edgerton
“Driven,” Nick Hamm
“Duelles” (“Mothers’ Instinct”), Olivier Masset-Depasse
“A Faithful Man” (“L’homme fidele”), Louis Garrel
“Gloria Bell,” Sebastian Lelio
“Hold the Dark,” Jeremy Saulnier
“Kursk,” Thomas Vinterberg
“Legend of the Demon Cat – Directors Cut,” Chen Kaige
“Mid90s,” Jonah Hill
“A Million Little Pieces,” Sam Taylor-Johnson
“Never Look Away” (“Werk ohne Autor”), Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck
“The Quietude” (“La Quietud”), Pablo Trapero
“Skin,” Guy Nattiv
“Teen Spirit,” Max Minghella
“Tell It to the Bees,” Annabel Jankel
“22 July,” Paul Greengrass
“Viper Club,” Maryam Keshavarz
“Vision,” Naomi Kawase
“Vita & Virginia,” Chanya Button
“Wild Rose,” Tom Harper

“3 Faces,” Jafar Panahi
“Ash Is Purest White” (“J iang Hu Er Nü”), Jia Zhang-ke
“Divine Wind” (“Rihrabani”), Merzak Allouache
“Hotel by the River” (“Gangbyun Hotel”), Hong Sang-soo
“Killing” (“Zan”), Shinya Tsukamoto
“Loro,” Paolo Sorrentino
“Our Time” (“Nuestro Tiempo”) Carlos Reygadas
“Peterloo,” Mike Leigh
“The Image Book” ( Le livre d’image ) Jean-Luc Godard
“The Wild Pear Tree” (“Ahlat Ağacı”) Nuri Bilge Ceylan
“Transit,” Christian Petzold

“The Accused” (“Acusada”), Gonzalo Tobal
“Angel” (“Un Ange”), Koen Mortier
“Asako I & II” (“Netemo Sametemo”), Ryusuke Hamaguchi
“Before the Frost” (“For Frosten”), Michael Noer
“Belmonte,” Frederico Veiroj
“Birds of Passage” (“Pajaros de verano”), Cristina Gallego & Ciro Guerra
“Black 47,” Lance Daly
“The Black Book,” Valeria Sarmiento
“Border” (“Grans”), Ali Abbasi
“Bulbul Can Sing,” Rima Das
“Core of the World,” Natalia Meshchaninova
“The Dive” (“Hatzlila”), Yona Rozenkier
“Donbass,” Sergei Loznitsa
“The Angel” (“El Angel”), Luis Ortega
“EXT. Night” (“Leil Khargi”), Ahmad Abdalla
“The Factory,” Yury Bykov
“Florianopolis Dream” (“Sueno Florianopolis”), Ana Katz
“I Do Not Care If We Go Down in History as Barbarians,” Radu Jude
“Jinpa” (“Zhuang Si Le Yi Zhi Yang”), Pema Tseden
“Let Me Fall” (“Lof mer ad falla”), Baldvin Z
“Look at Me,” Nejib Belkadhi
“Miniscule – Mandibles From Far Away,” Helene Giraud
“The Most Beautiful Couple” (“Das schonste Paar”), Sven Taddicken
“Museum” (“Museo”), Alonso Ruizpalacios
“One Last Deal” (“Tuntematon mestari”), Klaus Haro
“The Other Story” (“Sipur Acher”), Avi Nesher
“Quien te Cantara,” Carlos Vermut
“The Realm” (“El Reino”), Rodrigo Sorogoyen
“Redemption” (“Guela”), Boaz Yehonatan Jacov, Joseph Madmony
“Retrospekt,” Esther Rots
“Roads in February” (“Les routes en fevrier”), Katherine Jerkovic
“Rosie,” Paddy Breathnach
“Sew the Winter to My Skin,” Jahmil X.T. Qubeka
“Stupid Young Heart” (“Holmo nuori sydan”), Selma Vihunen
“Styx,” Wolfgang Fischer
“The Sweet Requiem” (“Kyoyang Ngarmo”), Ritu Sarin, Tenzing Sonam
“That Time of Year” (“Den Tid Pa Aret”), Paprika Steen
“Ulysses & Mona,” Sebastien Betbeder
“The Vice of Hope” (“Il Vizio Della Speranza”), Edoardo de Angelis
“Winter Flies” (“Vsechno bude”), Olmo Omerzu
“Working Woman” (“Isha Ovedet”), Michael Aviad

“Dead Souls,” Wang Bing
“Erased,___Ascent of the Invisible,” Ghassan Halwani
“Fausto,” Andrea Bussmann
“In My Room,” Ulrich Köhler
“The Flower,” Mariano Llinás
“Long Day’s Journey Into Night,” Bi Gan
“RAY & LIZ,” Richard Billingham
“The Stone Speakers,” Igor Drljača
“The Trial,” Sergei Loznitsa
“What You Gonna Do When the World’s on Fire?” Roberto Minervini

“L. COHEN,” James Benning
preceded by
 “Arena,” Björn Kämmerer

“The Grand Bizarre,” Jodie Mack
preceded by “Those Who Desire,” Elena López Riera

Wavelengths 1: Earth, Wind & Fire

“Polly One,” Kevin Jerome Everson
“Blue,” Apichatpong Weerasethakul
“Fainting Spells,” Sky Hopinka
“Prologue to the Tarot: Glenna,” Brittany Gravely, Ken Linehan
“Hoarders Without Boarders,” Jodie Mack
“ante mis ojos,” Lina Rodriguez

Wavelengths 2: Another Brick in the Wall
“Ada Kaleh,” Helena Wittmann
“The Glass Note,” Mary Helena Clark
“mumok kino,” Philipp Fleischmann
“1986 Summer,” Toshio Matsumoto
“Words, Planets,” Laida Lertxundi
“The Invisible Cinema 3,” Philipp Fleischmann
“Walled Unwalled,” Lawrence Abu Hamdan

Wavelengths 3: Centerfold
“Girl Pack,” Lisa Baumgardner
“Please step out of the frame.” Karissa Hahn
“The Air of the Earth in Your Lungs,” Ross Meckfessel
“Sira,” Rolla Tahir
“Slip,” Celia Perrin Sidarous
“Alice,” Maria Lassnig
“Fallen Arches,” Simon Liu
“I Hope I’m Loud When I’m Dead,” Beatrice Gibson

Wavelengths 4: We’ve Only Just Begun
“Colophon (for the Arboretum Cycle),” Nathaniel Dorsky
“A Return,” James Edmonds
“The Labyrinth,” Laura Huertas Millán
“Île d’Ouessant,” David Dudouit
“Julio Iglesias’s House,” Natalia Marín
“Man in the Well,” Hu Bo