‘Call Me by Your Name’ Wins Scripter Award for Adapted Screenplay

For the last seven years in a row, the Scripter winner has gone on to take the Academy Award for Best Adapted Screenplay

Last Updated: February 11, 2018 @ 9:20 AM


“Call Me by Your Name” has been named the year’s best screen adaptation at the 2018 USC Libraries Scripter Award ceremony, winning an honor that goes both to the writer of the screenplay and the author of the original work from which the script was adapted.

Scripter Awards went to André Aciman, who wrote the original novel on which the film is based, and James Ivory, who wrote the screenplay.

The Scripter winner has gone on to win the Oscar for Best Adapted Screenplay for the last seven years in a row, and nine times in the last 10 years. All five of the Oscar nominees in the category — “Call Me by Your Name,” “The Disaster Artist,” “Logan,” “Molly’s Game” and “Mudbound” — were also nominated for the Scripter Award, along with “The Lost City of Z” and “Wonder Woman.”

The film is also the favorite in the adapted-screenplay category at the Writers Guild Awards, which will be handed out on Sunday.

The Scripter Award for a television adaptation, a category that was created in 2016, went to screenwriter Bruce Miller and author Margaret Atwood for “The Handmaid’s Tale.”

Other TV nominees were the miniseries “Alias Grace,” the TV movie “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks” and episodes of “Big Little Lies,” “Genius” and “Mindhunter.”

The selections were made by a committee of screenwriters, critics, authors, producers and academics, chaired by the former president of the Writers Guild of America, West, Howard Rodman.

The black-tie 30th anniversary Scripter Award ceremony took place in the Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library on the USC campus, and was also a fundraiser for the USC Libraries.

Francis Ford Coppola, who went to film school  at USC’s crosstown rival UCLA, received the Scripter Literary Achievement Award.

The Scripter Award winners and nominees:

“Call Me by Your Name”: author André Aciman and screenwriter James Ivory *WINNER
“The Disaster Artist”: screenwriters Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber and authors Greg Sestero and Tom Bissell for their nonfiction book “The Disaster Artist: My Life Inside ‘The Room,’ the Greatest Bad Movie Ever Made”
“Logan”: screenwriters Scott Frank, Michael Green and James Mangold, and authors Roy Thomas, Len Wein and John Romita, Sr.
“The Lost City of Z”: screenwriter James Gray and author David Grann
“Molly’s Game”: screenwriter Aaron Sorkin and author Molly Bloom
“Mudbound”: screenwriters Dee Rees and Virgil Williams and author Hillary Jordan
“Wonder Woman”: screenwriter Allan Heinberg and author William Moulton Marston

“Alias Grace”: screenwriter Sarah Polley and author Margaret Atwood
“Big Little Lies”: screenwriter David E. Kelley for the episode “You Get What You Need” and author Liane Moriarty
“Genius”: screenwriters Noah Pink and Ken Biller for the episode “Einstein: Chapter One” and author Walter Isaacson for his book “Einstein: His Life and Word”
“The Handmaid’s Tale”: screenwriter Bruce Miller for the episode “Offred” and author Margaret Atwood *WINNER
“The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks”: screenwriters Peter Landesman, George C. Wolfe, and Alexander Woo and author Rebecca Skloot
“Mindhunter”: screenwriters Joe Penhall and Jennifer Haley for “Episode 10” and authors John Douglas and Mark Olshaker for their nonfiction book “Mindhunter: Inside the FBI’s Elite Serial Crime Unit”