We've Got Hollywood Covered

‘Star Trek’ Franchise Wins Emmys Governors Award

Since it was created by Gene Roddenberry in 1966, ”Star Trek“ has spawned seven television series and 13 movies

The “Star Trek” franchise has been named recipient of the 2018 Governors Award from the Television Academy, which will present CBS Television Studios with the honor at the Creative Arts Emmy Awards ceremony on Sept. 8.

The award was voted by the Academy’s board of governors, which created the honor in 1978 to honor “an individual or organizational achievement in the television arts and sciences that is exceptional and universal in nature and goes beyond the scope of annual Emmy Awards recognition,” according to a press release.

Since it was created by Gene Roddenberry in 1966, the “Star Trek” franchise has spawned seven television series (one animated) with more than 700 episodes, as well as 13 theatrical movies. Over the years, “Star Trek” shows have received 30 Emmys, the majority of which, 17, went to “Star Trek: The Next Generation” between 1987 and 1994.

The “Deep Space Nine,” “Voyager” and “Enterprise” series also won awards, while the original series received 13 nominations – including three for actor Leonard Nimoy – but never won an Emmy.

The franchise “has always been ahead of its time,” said Governors Award committee chair Mark Spatny in a statement. “Not only have all the [series] promoted inclusiveness and acceptance of all people, and inspired creative thought about space exploration and our future, but the technical innovations sparked by the franchise are incredibly significant to the evolution of television production, and also to the communication and computer tools we use in our daily life.”

David Stapf, president of CBS Television Studios, added, “For over 50 years, ‘Star Trek’ has captivated and connected fans from around the world. What the series always brilliantly illustrated is that, despite our greatest differences, we as people are more alike than we realize, and coming together in hopes of a better tomorrow is not just a possibility, but a necessity.”

Past recipients of the Governors Award include “Masterpiece Theater,” “American Idol,” Comic Relief and “America: A Tribute to Heroes.”