We've Got Hollywood Covered

Syria, LA Riots in the Spotlight With IDA Awards Nominations

Documentaries nominated for the IDA’s top honor include ”City of Ghosts,“ ”Dina,“ ”Faces Places,“ ”LA 92“ and ”Strong Island“


Agnes Varda and JR’s wry French travelogue “Faces Places,” Matthew Heineman’s Syrian conflict documentary “City of Ghosts” and Dan Lindsay and T.J. Martin’s L.A. riots chronicle “LA 92” are among the nominees as the year’s top nonfiction films at the International Documentary Association’s 2017 IDA Documentary Awards, the IDA announced on Wednesday.

Also nominated for the IDA Awards’ top honor: “Dina,” Antonio Santini and Dan Sickles’ film about a romance between two people on the autism spectrum, and “Strong Island,” Yance Ford’s look at the killing of her brother.

Last year, four of the five Oscar doc nominees, including the winning “O.J.: Made in America,” were first nominated for IDA Awards. Over the previous five years, 10 of the 26 IDA feature nominees went on to receive Oscar nominations, and two, “Searching for Sugar Man” and “Citizenfour,” won both awards.

The 33rd Annual IDA Awards will take place on Saturday, December 9, at Paramount Studios in Los Angeles.

Nominations for the other main award handed out to honor nonfiction filmmaking, the Cinema Eye Honors, will be announced on Friday.

The nominees:

Best Feature
“City of Ghosts,” Matthew Heineman
“Dina,” Antonio Santini and Dan Sickles
“Faces Places,” Agnès Varda and JR
“LA 92,” Dan Lindsay and T. J. Martin
“Strong Island,” Yance Ford

Best Short
“Edith + Eddie,” Laura Checkoway
“The Fight,” Violeta Ayala and Dan Fallshaw
“Heaven Is a Traffic Jam on the 405,” Frank Stiefel
“Long Shot,” Jacob LaMendola
“Mr. Connolly Has ALS,” Dan Habib
“The Rabbit Hunt,” Patrick Bresnan

ABC News VideoSource Award
“Blood on the Mountain”
“LA 92”

Best Curated Series
“American Experience”
“Independent Lens”
“Reel South”

Best Limited Series
“Daughters of Destiny”
“The Defiant Ones”
“The Keepers”
“TIME: The Kalief Browder Story”
“The Vietnam War”

Best Episodic Series
“Anthony Bourdain Parts Unknown”
“Chef’s Table”
“Leah Remini: Scientology and the Aftermath”
“Planet Earth II”

Best Short Form Series
“Field of Vision”
“The Guardian Documentaries”
“The Secret Life of Muslims”
“Shorts on Time”
“The New York Times Op-Docs”

Creative Recognition Award Winners
Best Cinematography: Rodrigo Trejo Villanueva, “Machines”
Best Editing: Bill Morrison, “Dawson City: Frozen Time”
Best Music: Dan Romer and Benh Zeitlin, “Brimstone & Glory”
Best Writing: Chico Pereira, Manuel Pereira, and Gabriel Molera, “Donkeyote”

Pare Lorentz Award: “Watani: My Homeland,” Marcel Mettelsiefen
Special Mention: “Intent to Destroy,” Joe Berlinger

Courage Under Fire Award:
“City of Ghosts,” “Cries From Syria,” “Hell on Earth” and “Last Men in Aleppo”

Career Achievement Award: Lourdes Portillo
Amicus Award: Abigail Disney
Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award: Yance Ford