‘The Big Short’ Cast Wins Ensemble Award From Palm Springs Film Festival

Steve Carell and Christian Bale will accept the honor on behalf of the Adam McKay film’s cast

Steve Carell and Ryan Gosling in The Big Short

The cast of “The Big Short” will receive the Ensemble Award at this year’s Palm Springs International Film Festival, with stars Steve Carell and Christian Bale attending the festival’s Awards Gala on Saturday to receive the award with director Adam McKay.

The award is the last to be announced for this year’s gala. The “Big Short” cast will join previously announced honorees Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara from “Carol,” Bryan Cranston from “Trumbo,” Matt Damon from “The Martian,” Johnny Depp from “Black Mass,” Michael Fassbender from “Steve Jobs,” Brie Larson from “Room,” Saoirse Ronan from “Brooklyn,” Alicia Vikander from “The Danish Girl” and director Tom McCarthy from “Spotlight.”

The Awards Gala, which will be held at the Palm Springs Convention Center on Saturday night, is a black-tie fundraiser for the festival and a popular campaign stop at a crucial time during Oscar voting.

“Wall Street greed and its reverberating effects on the U.S. economy offer a modern backdrop for director Adam McKay‘s smart and funny film ‘The Big Short,’” said PSIFF Chairman Harold Matzner in a statement. “Taking a complicated subject – the 2008 subprime mortgage bond crisis – McKay and his perfectly cast stars weave an engaging comedic story of a group of oddball money managers who see the train wreck coming and conspire to benefit.”

“The Big Short” is nominated for four Golden Globe Awards, including Best Motion Picture – Comedy or Musical, as well as two Screen Actors Guild Awards, one for Bale and one for its ensemble cast.

Past recipients of the Ensemble Award include the casts of “Argo,” “American Hustle,” “The Imitation Game,” “The Social Network” and “Babel.”

The Palm Springs International Film Festival will begin on Friday and run through Jan. 11 in the desert resort 100 miles east of Los Angeles.