‘Astronaut Wives Club’ Gets June Premiere Date on ABC

Series long in the works from “Gossip Girl” EPs Stephanie Savage and Josh Schwartz

Last Updated: April 20, 2015 @ 2:29 PM

ABC has set a June 18 premiere date for “The Astronaut Wives Club,” a series long in the works from “Gossip Girl” executive producer Josh Schwartz and writer/EP Stephanie Savage.

Originally slated for summer 2014, the drama about seven women married to astronauts in the early days of space exploration was reworked for midseason this year before sliding to its current summer ’15 premiere. Part of the retooling expanded the focus of the 10-episode series from one to three groundbreaking NASA missions: Mercury, Gemini and Apollo.

“The Astronaut Wives Club” stars JoAnna Garcia Swisher as Betty Grissom; Yvonne Strahovski as Rene Carpenter; Dominique McElligott as Louise Shepard; Odette Annable as Trudy Cooper; Erin Cummings as Marge Slayton; Azure Parsons as Annie Glenn; Zoe Boyle as Jo Schirra; Desmond Harrington as Alan Shepard; Bret Harrison as Gordo Cooper; Wilson Bethel as Scott Carpenter; Kenneth Mitchell as Deke Slayton; Joel Johnstone as Gus Grissom; Sam Reid as John Glenn and Aaron McCusker as Wally Schirra.

TheWrap reported exclusively in November that “90210” star Matt Lanter would appear midway through the season in a two-episode recurring guest role.

In addition to Savage and Schwartz, who re-team for the first time since “Gossip Girl,” Len Goldstein (“The Carrie Diaries,” “Hart of Dixie”), Michael London (“Milk”) and Janice Williams (“All Good Things”) executive produce. The series, based on the book by Lily Koppel, is an ABC Studios, Fake Empire and Groundswell production.

“The Astronaut Wives Club” premieres Thursday, June 18 at 8 p.m. ET/PT.


Looks like you’re enjoying reading
Keep reading by creating
a free account or logging in.