Good Morning, Oscar: December 15

More critics awards, because we know you haven’t had enough of them yet

Last Updated: December 15, 2009 @ 5:36 AM

In this morning’s roundup of Oscar news ‘n’ notes from around the web, more critics awards! Because we know you haven’t had enough of them yet.

Somehow, in between the New York Film Critics Circle and the Los Angeles Film Critics Association and the Southeastern Film Critics Association and the St. Louis Film Critics Association and the Broadcast Film Critics Association and the Alliance of Women Film Journalists and the New York Film Critics Online and the American Film Institute and the Boston Society of Film Critics, I missed a couple of film critics groups that announced their winners yesterday. So here goes:

First, the San Francisco Film Critics Circle, who in a delightful bit of contrariness did not pick Christoph Waltz as best supporting actor, instead going for Christian McKay from “Me and Orson Welles.”

Best Picture: “The Hurt Locker”
Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow, “The Hurt Locker”
Best Original Screenplay: Quentin Tarantino, “Inglourious Basterds”
Best Adapted Screenplay: Wes Anderson and Noah Baumbach, “Fantastic Mr. Fox”
Best Actor: Colin Firth, “A Single Man”
Best Actress: Meryl Streep, “Julie & Julia”
Best Supporting Actor: Christian McKay, “Me and Orson Welles” (left)
Best Supporting Actress: Mo’Nique, “Precious”
Best Animated Feature: “Coraline”
Best Foreign Language Film: “You, the Living” (Sweden)
Best Documentary: “Anvil! The Story of Anvil”
Best Cinematography: Roger Deakins, “A Serious Man”
Special Citation: “Sita Sings the Blues”
Marlon Riggs Award for courage & vision in the Bay Area film community:
Frazer Bradshaw, filmmaker, in recognition of his film “Everything Strange and New”
Barry Jenkins, filmmaker, in recognition of his film “Medicine for Melancholy”
In Memoriam: Rose Kaufman

(San Francisco Film Critics Circle website)

Then the Indiana Film Critics awards, whose big declaration of independence was naming Spike Jonze Best Director for “Where the Wild Things Are.”

Best Film of the Year: “Up in the Air”
Runner-up: “Fantastic Mr. Fox”
Best Director:
Spike Jonze, “Where the Wild Things Are” (right)
Runner-up: Wes Anderson, “Fantastic Mr. Fox”
Best Screenplay:
Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner, “Up in the Air”
Runner-up: Spike Jonze and Dave Eggers, “Where the Wild Things Are”
Original Vision Award:
”Where the Wild Things Are”
Runner-up: “District 9”
Best Actor:
George Clooney, “Up in the Air”
Runner-up: Jeremy Renner, “The Hurt Locker”
Best Actress:
Carey Mulligan, “An Education”

Runner-up: Meryl Streep, “Julie & Julia”
Best Supporting Actress:
Mo’Nique, “Precious”

Runner-up: Vera Farmiga, “Up in the Air”
Best Supporting Actor:
Christoph Waltz, “Inglourious Basterds”

Runner-up: Stanley Tucci, “The Lovely Bones” and “Julie & Julia”
Best Foreign Language Film:
”Sin Nombre”

Runner-up: “Welcome”
Best Animated Film:
”Fantastic Mr. Fox”

Runner-up: “Up”
Best Documentary:
”The Cove”

Runner-up: “Anvil! The Story of Anvil”

(Awards Daily)

And the African-American Film Critics Association has made "Precious" its top film.  

Best Picture: "Precious"

The rest of the Top 10:

"The Princess and The Frog"
"Up In The Air"
"The Hurt Locker"
"This Is It"
"American Violet"
"Goodbye Solo"
"Medicine for Melancholy"
"Good Hair"

Best Actor:   Morgan Freeman, "Invictus"
Best Actress:  Nicole Beharie, "American Violet"
Best Supporting Actress: Mo’Nique, "Precious"
Best Supporting Actor: Anthony Mackie, "The Hurt Locker"
Best Director:  Lee Daniels, "Precious" 
Best Screenplay: (tie)  
Geoffrey Fletcher, "Precious"
R. Clements, R. Edwards, J. Musker, "The Princess & The Frog" 
Special Achievement:   Michael Jackson